WIAW 10.24.12

Happy hump day y’all, only 2 more days till the w-e-e-k-e-n-d!  I’m psyched for this weekend because we’ve got fun things planned both Saturday and Sunday!

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

My recent eats have been pretty Plain Jane because I’m still somewhat hesitant to branch out too much because of the digestive issues I’ve been experiencing.  Nonetheless, they’ve filled my belly and provided me with fuel to power through my days!

Pumpkin Spice Coffee

Roasted Broccoli

*This is my favorite way to cook veggies, that is if I have the patience to wait.  Steamed is a close second, primarily because it’s quick.*

Veggie Eggie Cups: egg whites + sautéed bell peppers & onion + salt + pepper

*These were tasty but pretty basic.  I’d like to play around with different combos such as adding squash and mushrooms, spinach, chunks of day-old bread, and possibly a sweet version!*

Creamy Oats Bowl: Chobani + cinnamon-sugar oats + unsweetened coconut + almond slivers + roasted flax seeds + maple syrup

*This was my first time trying flax seeds.  The verdict: they’re a super tasty superfood!*

Veggie Sticks + Mustard

*I tried WF’s yellow mustard for the first time and it’s great!  It tastes a bit sweet like honey mustard but has a kick like dijon.*

P28 Bagel + Cinnamon Laughing Cow Cream Cheese

Apple Cinnamon Chobani

Snacky Time

*String cheese sticks are one of my favorite snacks.  I’m a biter, Ryan’s a peeler, what are you?*

Homemade Cinnamon Applesauce

*This time I left a few chunks and I’m glad I did.  I prefer chunky > smooth applesauce, just like how I prefer my peanut butter!*

Veggie Packed Dr. Praeger’s Veggie Burger Salad

Mashed Avocado + Parm Cheese on Rice Cakes

*Parm cheese + avocado is a great combo!  I’d like to try it with pasta…  Dinner tonight?*

Goldfish Grin [just for some giggles]

Unfortunately, I don’t have any spooky snacks or Halloween treats to share but Halloween is still a week away so there’s still time!  I’ve got my eyes on some healthy eats and tasty treats 😉

XOXO,

Allison

Question:  What’s one of your tastiest recent eats?

Question:  Have you made any Halloween treats?

14 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

14 responses to “WIAW 10.24.12

  1. Yeah, I’m a lame Halloweenie too, no treats yet. But I DID buy some Halloween-themed cups. That almost counts, right? Anyhoo, I’m right with ya in terms of veggies! Oven roasted is always best, but sometimes I just want my veggies now–then it’s steamed…or time to make a stir-fry ;D That coffee sounds delicious! Where do you get it in small quantities like that? I always want to try different flavored coffees, but I don’t want to have to buy a giant canister of it! Gotta find that mustard at WF too, I love slightly sweet with spicy!

    • Ooo, stir-fry is always good too or an egg scramble! I actually got the coffee packet from a Foodie Penpal so I’m not sure where she found it other than at her local farmers market :/ I’ve seen markets around me that offer samples, maybe yours do too!

  2. Oh, I just made some pumpkin muffins that came out tasty!

  3. please come make me some of this goodness. I love the mashed avo. i’m missing them. time to restock!

  4. I want to steal all of your food. And your goldfish. 🙂

    I know you don’t get the same benefits from whole roasted flax, but I loooove that nutty crunch. *sigh*

    • Hehe too bad it wasn’t full of Goldfish, those were a childhood favorite! Sighhh, I don’t know enough about the nutritional benefits [need to look them up!] but it does have a good dose of fiber which I need to help all the digestive things 😉

  5. One of my tastiest recent eats: Dinner tonight!

    I made Roasted Winter Vegetable Jambalaya. The recipe is from the book, The Inspired Vegan, but I found it in the current issue of Vegetarian Times magazine. It was seriously SOOOO good!

  6. All of your meals look absolutely delicious. Loving your eggie cups. They are adorable 🙂

  7. Pingback: Marvelous in My Monday [MIMM] #3 | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

