Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

Immediately after I woke up from my procedure on Friday I had one thing on my mind…  Pancakes.  I’ve been playing around with a recipe for cinnamon applesauce ‘cakes but think it needs a little TLC before it’s shared.

Source

Fresh out of applesauce, I looked in the cupboard to see what I could find…  Chocolate chips?  Chocolate for breakfast is always a treat but I wasn’t in the mood for something super sweet.  Peanut butter?  A forever favorite but I was in the mood for something more seasonal.  And then, back in the corner I spied with my little eye…  A can of pumpkin, yes!

Source

A few whiskings later, I was eager to dig into a stack of pumpkin pancakes topped with cinnamon pears and a dollop of maple Chobani!  The texture was light, but a little dense.  The taste was pumpkiny, but the cinnamon was a bit overpowering.  Overall, I’d say they were average and fulfilled their purpose [to fill my empty belly], but they weren’t anything special.  They needed something more.

That night Ryan and I made a quick trip to Trader Joe’s for a few dinner fixings and I spotted pumpkin pie spice.  That was it, the missing “something more” and I knew what I was making for breakfast, pumpkin pie pancakes.  I was hoping to make a stack of ‘cakes that tasted like a slice of pie…  And they did, they tasted like Thanksgiving dessert 🙂

Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

¼ cup white whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons stevia

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie seasoning

¼ cup pumpkin

2 egg whites

¼ cup Silk Light Vanilla soymilk

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients: flour, stevia, baking soda, and pumpkin pie seasoning. 
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients: pumpkin, egg whites, and soymilk.
  3. Combine the flour and pumpkin mixtures and whisk until the batter is smooth.
  4. Spray a medium-sized skillet with non-stick cooking spray and place over medium heat.
  5. For each pancake, spoon 2 generous tablespoons of batter into the pan.  Cook each pancake until a few bubbles form and burst, 1 to 2 minutes. 
  6. Flip the pancake with a spatula and cook until browned on the underside, 1 to 2 more minutes.
  7. Serve the stack of ‘cakes with your favorite toppings!

pumpkin pie pancakes à la mode [toppings: maple syrup and sweetened cottage cheese]

*Tip: If you’re not immediately eating the pancakes, or are making a large batch to share, you can keep them warm them in the oven.  Heat the oven to 200 degrees, place the pancakes on a baking sheet, and lightly cover with aluminum foil.*

Next up, perfecting the cinnamon applesauce ‘cakes and for the first time, attempting yogurt pancakes…  I’m looking forward to breakfasts this week 😉

XOXO,

Allison

Question:  Do you make pancakes during the week or save them for a weekend treat?

Question:  Have you seen the movie Super Size Me?  I woke up before the sun this morning and nothing was on TV, except infomercials and Super Size Me.  It was the first time I’ve seen it and oh-my-goodness, it was startling and gross…  French fries should *not* be considered a serving of vegetables in the public school system!

7 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

7 responses to “Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Mr.CBB’s Pumpkin Spice Pound Cake With Brown Butter Buttercream « Canadian Budget Binder

  2. Those look so good! I’ve been wanting to make pumpkin pancakes. I watched that movie a while back – I kind of love documentaries like that… Other good ones are Food Inc. and Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead

  3. Pingback: Marvelous Monday [MIMM #2] | Life's a Bowl

  4. ummm yummmy! Definitely have to try.. the hubby is trying to eat healthy so Im thinking this would be a great breakfast treat.

  5. Pingback: WIAW // AL[upus]R Walk | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

