His Steak, Her Salad

Yesterday I didn’t get to the gym until after work so by the time I got home around 7PM my tummy was talking.

Thankfully, Ryan took a steak out to defrost before he left for work in the morning so that meant we each did our own thing and dinner came together quickly.  He got manly on the grill and I got creative with a kitchen sink salad bowl.

I started with a base of romaine and added slaw, tomatoes, mushrooms, roasted cauliflower florets, a Dr. Praeger’s California veggie burger, and a sprinkling of light feta cheese.  Served up with a few warmed whole wheat tortillas and a dip of  guacamole + Greek yogurt…  Dinner was served 🙂

After dinner, Ryan tuned into football and I continued to write thank you notes.  Ryan and I felt SO blessed to have as many family and friends attend our “big day” as we did.  Since much of our family is spread out throughout the country and since it was holiday weekend [the day before the first day of school], we were unsure how many people would be able to attend…  Until we began receiving RSVP cards in the mail and 75% had checked “Joyfully Accepts”!

The best feeling was walking into our reception and seeing everyone seated at their table, it was a completely overwhelming rush of love.  I could go on about it but I’ll save that for a wedding recap post.  Today’s point: we were blown away by all the love and support from our family and friends.  I don’t think a card can truly can express our gratitude but we will try our best to put our feelings into words!

XOXO,

Allison

P.S.  My hair looks like a messy lion’s mane.  I got a few highlights for summer and let it grow out for the wedding but now I’m ready for something different.  Darker for fall?  Chop it off?  Hair is hair, it’ll grow back if disaster strikes!

Question: Do you and your husband and/or kids make different dinners?  I typically cook dinner for both Ryan and I but when he has steak we each do our own thing since red meat really ain’t my thing…

Question: Do you send handwritten notes?  When I was in college I enjoyed sending my family and friends a handwritten note every now and then.  I have never met someone who doesn’t like receiving things in the mail!

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Fashion, Food, Wedding

8 responses to “His Steak, Her Salad

  1. Oh my gosh…you looked gorgeous on your big day! Absolutely beautiful!

  2. Chelsea Eats Treats

    You look beautiful in your pic!!! LOVE your dress 🙂 And my boyfriend and I make different dinners all the time…he will grill chicken and have it with pasta & tomato sauce while I use mine in a salad. It’s just easier that way!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks so much!!! We often will do the same- I’ll cook some sort of protein and toss it into a salad and he’ll serve his up sandwich style or with a side of hashbrowns or pasta 🙂

  3. You are absolutely gorgeous!! I love this post and I’m so happy we’ve connected! xo

  4. I am a firm believer that hair is seasonal – darker for the winter! 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Me too! I also want to chop it all off but I may postpone that want until the spring… It’s always nice to have a little warmth around the neck in the cooler months 😛

Whatcha think?

