Beginner Banana Bread

For the past few weeks, Ryan has begged for banana bread.  I love to cook but baking is a different story.  After many failed attempts, I have decided that purchasing baked goods is easier, less humiliating, and more satisfying.

Source

But, being a newlywed, I feel that it is my responsibility to do anything [within limits] to make my husband happy…  Although, we all know the phrase really is “happy wifey, happy lifey!”  Wanting to be a good wifey, I decided to put my new beautiful cobalt blue KitchenAid Artisan Stand Mixer to use and bake my man a loaf of banana bread.

I stumbled upon a handful of banana bread recipes [evidence on my “Sweet Treats” Pinterest board].  Many of the recipes were very similar with some sort of combination of flour + sugar + bananas + eggs + liquid, but I ultimately decided to add my own touches.

Beginner Banana Bread

3 ripe bananas, mashed

2 cups 100% white whole wheat flour

1 cup stevia

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup applesauce

1 teaspoon maple syrup

~~~

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Measure and combine all the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking soda, and cinnamon.  Turn the mixer onto “stir” just until everything is combined.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients: eggs, applesauce, and maple syrup.  Turn the mixer onto medium speed until everything is blended.  Be sure not to over-beat!
  4. Spoon the batter into a loaf pan coated with cooking spray and dusted with flour.
  5. Bake for approximately 50 minutes or until a toothpick is inserted into the center and comes out clean.
  6. Let the loaf cool for 10 minutes in the pan; remove and place the loaf on a wire rack to cool completely.

I am happy to report that our apartment smells heavenly of sugary bananas and banana bread is our Sunday night football snack!  Super simple but super satisfying…  This wife just scored herself a touchdown!

XOXO ❤

Allison

Question:  Are you a baker?

Question:  What’s your favorite banana bread topper?

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Recipes

3 responses to “Beginner Banana Bread

  1. I’ve learned over the years that my cooking skills outweigh my baking skills by 100%. It looks like you are well on your way to becoming a baker! 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Haha, not so sure about that but I’m definitely willing to try again! Worst situation, I only can bake banana bread… I’m sure my husband won’t mind 😛

  2. Pingback: Instant Art: Healthy Eats & Tasty Treats | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

