Spring Has Sprung

If you’re in the DC area you may argue that spring sprung weeks ago considering the weather we’ve experienced lately- 80+ degrees, sunshine, heat storms, and humidity…  But regardless of where you are, today marks the official first day of spring 😀

In my mind spring means: sunshine and warmer weather, blooming flowers, dresses and skirts without tights, open-toed shoes, grilling parties, longer hours of daylight, chirping birds, and more outdoor activities…  All of which I am perfectly a-ok with!

Spring also means cleaning.  Who came up with the phrase “spring cleaning”?!  My theory is that it was a mom somewhere out in the world at one time was super mad at her kids for making a mess that she told them to clean the house.  Being the good kids they were they listened and from then on, the mom made the kids clean every spring.  Spring = cleaning.

As I’ve said before, cleaning days are dreaded days [although I do love the feeling of accomplishment once it’s all done]…  I think my negative feelings for cleaning are a result of my approach to cleaning.  In the past, I’ve dedicated one day specifically to cleaning- from laundry to dishes, dusting and vacuuming, I saved it all for one day.

With this in mind, I’ve decided to try a new approach this spring…  To tackle one cleaning chore a day.  Whether the chore is big or small it still counts.  For example, one day I may clean the bathroom, another day I could do the laundry, and the next day I may vacuum.  One to-do sounds easier than a list of 10 to-do’s.

Since Ryan and I are planning to go to the gym later tonight and it’s the first day of spring, I took advantage of my afternoon and tackled my first spring cleaning project…  Sort through a gigantic stack of unread magazines that are gathering dust on our bookshelf.

I usually bring a magazine with me to read at the gym but I guess I have forgotten to pop one into my gym bag, granted I pack it at 6AM when I’m getting ready for work…

I fueled up with an afternoon snack, plopped myself on the couch, and with a little help from Charlie, I flipped through the magazines, separating them into two piles: a pile to keep [recent magazines] and a pile to donate to my gym.

I ultimately only kept 7 of the total 25 magazines- a couple fitness-related and a few food-related…  Now I hope that I’ll find some gym and recipe inspiration!  Ryan got stuck at work and it’s almost 7PM so I think I’ll head to the gym to get my sweat on and to donate a large stack of reading material 😉

P.S.  A specially delivery was waiting on the doorstep for me when I got home from work…

Happy First Day of Spring!

Daily Memorable Moment March 20: My package came!!!

Question:  What’s your least favorite cleaning chore?

Question:  What are your favorite magazines?

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Spring Has Sprung

  1. Magazines gather dust in my house too! I have a hard time throwing them out when I’m done, especially if they contain articles I’ve enjoyed or recipes I want to make. I probably have 30 sitting in my room right now (no joke)! I think it’s time to follow your lead and do some “spring cleaning.” <–And you raise a good question, where did that term come from?!

    Hope you're enjoying the fabulous weather! I actually just returned to DC tonight, after spending a week in 40-degree temps, so I'm excited to soak up the sun tomorrow! xoxo

    • Life's a Bowl

      That’s my problem too! I should start ripping out specific pages OR just making a note because most of the stories/ recipes are online 😛

  2. my most fav magazine is def womens health, and then cosmo, self, and fitness.
    Ohh whats in the package?! Amazon I see, so could be anything! 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Women’s Health, Self, Cooking Light, and Cosmo are some of my faves 🙂 Yup, the box is from Amazon and it was my wedding shoes!!!

  3. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday 3.21.12 | Life's a Bowl

  4. Pingback: day 113: organizational chaos/ super easy and simple way to do a boring old spring cleaning chore! « ipinterest

Whatcha think?

