Three Things Thursday 3.15.12

Thing 1:  I am absolutely LOVING the combo of PB + Greek yogurt… It’s SO GOOD!!!

I informed Chobani via Twitter of my recent obsession and suggested that it become one of their new flavors…  Or even adding a little “jelly” on the bottom?!

Thing 2:  My digestive issues have been in full force this week so I’ve been researching celiac disease and gluten-free diets.  I tried going gluten-free for a couple of weeks in the spring and saw no improvement so I reintroduced wheat back into my diet.  But, after reading a handful of informative and interesting articles this week about the relationship between anemia and celiac disease, as well as comparing my symptoms to the most common symptoms of celiac disease, I’ve decided to give the diet a second shot…

To be honest, I’m less than enthusiastic about the thought of not being able to sink my teeth into a big hunk of wheaty bread, but if a gluten-free diet makes me feel better in the long-term then it’ll be worth it.

Thing 3:  Hello summer, so long spring, and never saw ya winter!

It has been 80+ degrees and sunny for the past three days in DC and I’m totally loving it 😀  My only complaint is that the county hasn’t switched over from heat to AC so my classroom is a sauna…

Daily Memorable Moment March 15:  I had a very positive meeting with our school’s principal…

Question:  Are you on a gluten-free diet?  If yes, what are your favorite gluten-free brands?  If no, could you ever give up wheat?

Question:  What’s the weather like in your part of the country?

11 Comments

Filed under Food, Health, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Three Things Thursday 3.15.12

  1. Great post! I’m definitely going to try the greek yogurt & PB! I’m in Montana and the weather here is amazing (for Montana). It’s the middle of March and 66degrees. I just moved here last July and my co-workers told me that last year, it didn’t stop snowing until May!

    Please check out my blog http://getphyt.org/
    I’d love to hear what you think about it! 🙂

    getPHYT, Exercise Your Mind.

    • Anna

      I’ve been gluten-free since August! I did it for the same reasons- I have always had major GI issues and after getting no results from multiple tests and scopes, I figured I’d give it a go. It has really helped a lot, not only with GI issues, but my over-all health. I used to get horrible migraines and I never get them anymore, I have a lot more energy throughout the day, and I have lost almost 30 pounds 🙂 What I miss most? Pizza and beer. Those are really the only two things I have yet to find a good GF substitute for. Everything else has been doable. Some of my favorite brands are Ian’s (for quick easy things like chix nuggets and fish sticks), Scharr (for pasta and cookies), and Udi’s (for bread). Annie’s also makes some yummy GF snacks and a GF mac and cheese. I also have come to love fruits and veggies on a whole new level (all are GF), lentil crackers (an excellent source of protein), and Luna protein bars (my fav are the peanut butter chocolate ones- under 200 cals, 12 grams of protein, and complete yummy bliss 🙂 Let me know if you want any other info, I have tons! Good luck!

      • I think it’s amazing that you took control of your health. Congratulations on your success so far!

      • Life's a Bowl

        Thanks so much! We definitely should catch-up and you can fill me in with some of your tips and tricks 🙂 I’ve tried both Ian’s and Udi’s products and liked some of them [others not so much]. I think it’s definitely going to be hit/ miss test for a while until I find what I like…

      • Life's a Bowl

        P.S. I have LOVED Luna bars for years, glad to know they’re GF!!!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks 🙂 I’ve only been to Montana during winter [to ski] but I imagine the mountains are beautiful in the spring!

  2. PB2 & yogurt? That’s just SMART!! I just got 4 more PB2s! 🙂

  3. Anna

    Just FYI- I don’t believe all Luna bars are GF, but the Luna protein bars are 🙂 And yes, let’s definitely find a time to catch up!

    • Life's a Bowl

      I looked at their website [http://www.lunabar.com/products/ingredients/] and the only original Luna bar that is gluten-free is chocolate raspberry but the protein bars are all gluten-free!

  4. Pingback: 13 Things Thursday | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

