Tunes Tuesday 3.13.12

I like the idea of using alliterations for every day this week.  Yesterday was “Monday’s Meals,” today is “Tunes Tuesday,” and I’m thinking either “What I’m Pinning Wednesday” or “What I Ate Wednesday” tomorrow…

So, back to the tunes…  It’s no secret, I’ve said it before, I have a girl crush on TSwift.  My friends and I joke, but in all seriousness, we wish she would be our friend…  The girl is so down-to-earth, inspirational, and relatable, who wouldn’t want to be her friend?!

So it shouldn’t be a surprise that more often than not my radio is tuned to the TSwift station on Pandora.  When I was listening to it this morning I heard two new-t0-me tunes…

“Ours” by Taylor Swift

Elevator buttons and morning air
Strangers’ silence makes me want to take the stairs
If you were here we’d laugh about their vacant stares
But right now my time is theirs

Seems like there’s always someone who disapproves
They’ll judge it like they know about me and you
And the verdict comes from those with nothing else to do
The jury’s out, my choice is you

So don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
And life makes love look hard
The stakes are high, the water’s rough
But this love is ours

You never know what people have up their sleeves
Ghosts from your past gonna jump out at me
Lurking in the shadows with their lip gloss smiles
But I don’t care ’cause right now you’re mine

And you’ll say
Don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
And life makes love look hard
The stakes are high, the water’s rough
But this love is ours

And it’s not theirs to speculate
If it’s wrong and
Your hands are tough
But they are where mine belong and
I’ll fight their doubt and give you faith
With this song for you

‘Cause I love the gap between your teeth
And I love the riddles that you speak
And any snide remarks from my father about your tattoos will be ignored
‘Cause my heart is yours

So don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
And life makes love look hard
Don’t you worry your pretty little mind
People throw rocks at things that shine
But they can’t take what’s ours
They can’t take what’s ours

The stakes are high, the water’s rough
But this love is ours

Source

“Long Live” by Taylor Swift

I still remember this moment
In the back of my mind
The time we stood with our shaking hands
The crowds in stands went wild

We were the kings and the queens
And they read off our names
The night you danced like you knew our lives
Would never be the same

You held your head like a hero
On a history book page
It was the end of a decade
But the start of an age

Long live the walls we crashed through
While the kingdom lights shined just for me and you
I was screaming, long live all the magic we made
And bring on all the pretenders, one day we will be remembered

I said, remember this feeling
I passed the pictures around
Of all the years that we stood there on the sidelines
Wishing for right now

We are the kings and the queens
You traded your baseball cap for a crown
When they gave us our trophies
And we held them up for our town

And the cynics were outraged
Screaming, this is absurd
‘Cause for a moment a band of thieves
In ripped-up jeans got to rule the world

Long live the walls we crashed through
While the kingdom lights shined just for me and you
I was screaming, long live all the magic we made
And bring on all the pretenders, I’m not afraid

Long live all the mountains we moved
I had the time of my life fighting dragons with you
I was screaming, long live the look on your face
And bring on all the pretenders, one day we will be remembered

Hold on to spinning around
Confetti falls to the ground
May these memories break or fall

And you take a moment
Promise me this
That you’ll stand by me forever
But if God forbid fate should step in

And force us into a goodbye
If you have children someday
When they point to the pictures
Please tell them my name

Tell them how the crowds went wild
Tell them how I hope they shine

Long live the walls we crashed through
I had the time of my life with you

Long, long live the walls we crashed through
All the kingdom lights shined just for me and you
And I was screaming, long live all the magic we made
And bring on all the pretenders, I’m not afraid

Singing, long live all the mountains we moved
I had the time of my life fighting dragons with you
And long, long live the look on your face
And bring on all the pretenders, one day we will be remembered

Source

~~~~~

But we understand that she’s pretty popular and fairly busy so hanging out with us most likely never will happen.  Oh well, ya win some, ya lose some.  We’ll just have to keep going to her concerts and looking like fools while singing at the top of our lungs in our cars…

Daily Memorable Moment March 13:  Out with the old, in with the new…  The gym got new mats!

Question:  Who do you have a girl crush on?

Question:  Should I stick with my plans of making this week all about alliterations- yay or nay?

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Whatcha think?

