Nutrition Myths

Last night Ryan mentioned that I haven’t been taking many pictures of my eats lately.  Why?  Because I’ve been in a food funk…  I’ve eaten almost the same thing for the past week.  Eggs or some sort of cereal bowl for breakfast, snacky lunches, salads for dinner, and a bowl of fro-yo as my after-dinner treat.  The repetition doesn’t both me, I’m eating what I want, but I doubt that y’all care to see the same thing day after day…

The lack of variety in my diet lately isn’t a good representation of my love for food.  I like food.  I like to prepare food.  I like to cook food.  I like to eat food.  I like to share food.  Anddd, I like to read about food.

Since being diagnosed with Lupus a few years ago, I have tried my best to adopt an all-natural, preservative free diet.  Sure, I have a few slip-ups and will indulge in something that’s not 100% natural but I’m okay with that.  I like knowing that what I’m putting into my body is real, not fake.  I have more energy.  And in the long scheme of things, I know it’s a wise decision.

So what do I like to eat?  I LOVE fruits and vegetables.  No really, I LOVE them!  Raw or steamed, broiled or baked, serve me up a plate of produce and I’ll be one happy girl!  I also LOVE carbs.  Breads, cereals, popcorn, rice…  Yum! And I also LOVE proteins.  Chicken, eggs, fish, ham turkey, yogurt…  Another yum!

My relationship with food in the past has not always been easy but I have learned to love food for what it is.  It is energy for our bodies.  We need it to grow, to get stronger, and simply, to survive.

A couple of years ago I subscribed to Cooking Light‘s daily newsletter and have spent hours drooling over featured recipes.  Who doesn’t love delicious AND healthy food?

But what is “healthy”?  Is it food that is low in calories, fat, saturated fat, or sodium?  Or is it food that is high in fiber or protein?

Nowadays I think it’s easy for people to get confused about what is “healthy.”  There are ads everywhere promoting the “healthy” foods or the latest fad diets or foods to avoid because they will either make you fat, clog your arteries, or result in some other health condition.  Today Cooking Light featured an article titled “10 Nutrition Myths Debunked“…

Myth 1:  Added sugar is always bad for you.

Truth:  Use the sweet stuff to ensure that sugar calories are far from “empty” calories.

Myth 2:  Eating eggs raises your cholesterol levels.

Truth:   Dietary cholesterol found in eggs has little to do with the amount of cholesterol in your body.

Myth 3:  All saturated fats raise blood cholesterol.

Truth:  New research shows that some saturated fats don’t.

Myth 4:  The only heart-friendly alcohol is red wine.

Truth:  Beer, wine, and liquors all confer the same health benefits.

Myth 5:  Adding salt to the pot adds sodium to the food.

Truth:  Salt added to boiling water may actually make vegetables more nutritious.

Myth 6:  Fried foods are always too fatty.

Truth:  Healthy deep-fried food is not an oxymoron.

Myth 7:  The more fiber you eat, the better.

Truth:  Not all fibers are equally beneficial. Consider the source.

Myth 8:  You should always remove chicken skin before eating.

Truth:  You can enjoy a skin-on chicken breast without blowing your sat-fat budget.

Myth 9:  Organic foods are more nutritious than conventional.

Truth:  No significant nutritional difference exists between conventional and organic crops and livestock.

Myth 10:  Cooking olive oil destroys its health benefits.

Truth:  Even delicate extra-virgin oils can take the heat without sacrificing nutrition.

So what should we take away?  That we need to consume more sugar, eat more eggs, drink more alcohol, add more salt, pick-up more fried fast food, fill-up with fiber, and buy only organic food?  NO!  The biggest point to take away is do NOT believe everything you hear!

P.S.  Be sure to check out the article for yourself to read more about the truth each myth!

Daily Memorable Moments

March 6:  We found 2 more of Charlie’s baby teeth- a small front tooth and a molar!

March 7:  I was working one-on-one with my students today and was pleasantly surprised with how hard they worked and a couple even asked me for more work!  I highly doubt I ever asked one of my teachers for more work…

Question:  What’s one food/ nutrition myth you’ve heard?

Question:  What’s your favorite food to indulge in?

12 Comments

Filed under Food, Health

12 responses to “Nutrition Myths

  1. Kind of along the lines of organic. Free range chicken isn’t any better or worse than regular chicken nutritionally speaking.

    I like to indulge in bread. I cannot get enough of it.

  2. Least favorite nutrition myth = low carb diets are good for you. ALL my education in health science tells me this is entirely false. America needs to get over this myth. Low carb diets will help you lose weight fast, but it will be regained in full very fast as well! Grains are the essence of life! Ha.
    My favorite indulgence is almond butter and dark chocolate:)

    • Life's a Bowl

      I am a carb-crazy girl, always have and always will love them! Mmm, crunchy peanut butter + dark chocolate = heavenly 😀 But I really need to try almond butter… What’s your fave brand?

      • “Justins” is the best almond butter!! They have a bunch of variations, but I like the original. They even have a dark chocolate almond butter that is amazing 😀 And, im with you, Carbs=happiness 🙂

      • Life's a Bowl

        I haven’t tried any of the Justin products, we usually just get a jar of crunchy PB from TJ’s 🙂 This week we didn’t have a chance to go to TJ’s so we tried a new brand, Crazy Richard’s, and liked it! Def a crunchy girl 😉

  3. I am sure you get this a lot, but I love your blog so I couldn’t resist! I nominated you for Kreativ Blogger!

    http://fitscallyresponsible.com/2012/03/07/kreativ-blogger-award/

  4. My family is OBSESSED with nutritional falsities. I’m going to have to get them to read that article! Thanks!! 🙂

Whatcha think?

