First Bridal Consultation

Yesterday after work I skipped the gym in favor of meeting my momma to go…

WEDDING DRESS SHOPPING!!!

Source

Or rather wedding GOWN shopping [if we’re going to get technical].  I was informed that there is a slight difference between wedding dresses and wedding gowns…  All wedding gowns are dresses, but not all wedding dresses are gowns.

Source

The difference: wedding gowns are long and are formal, while wedding dresses can be short and either formal or informal.

Source

But in reality, the two terms are interchangeable and I doubt anyone will give you grief for whichever you prefer…

Source

Wedding dress or wedding gown, they’re both classy, elegant, and help to make a bride feel like a complete princess for a day!

Source

So, did I find THE dress?

Source

…my lips are sealed!

Source

As much as I wanna share what I loved and what I loathed, I am going to try my best to keep it a secret.  I have never been a good secret keeper so I don’t know how long I will be able to keep quiet [hehe]!  I have a couple more bridal consultations this weekend and I am hoping to say yes to THE dress by next weekend 😀

Source

Daily Memorable Moment February 23:  Going to my first bridal consultation!

Question:  What style of wedding dresses do you like?  A straight skirt or something fuller?  What type of neckline?

Question:  Who did you or who would you bring shopping with you?  I decided to only bring my mom with me to shop for THE dress but will invite my girlfriends to the fittings…

14 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Wedding

14 responses to “First Bridal Consultation

  1. My vote is for the lacey halter top w/ gold sash – its amazing!! but they’re all lovely!!

  2. Amy

    I love ALL of those that you posted!! We have similar taste. Can’t wait to see which one you chose 🙂 so exciting, living vicariously through you haha!!

  3. Eek! I can’t wait to see what you chose. I love that second one. There is something about a plunging neckline that gets me every time.

  4. I like the idea of a full dress (especially the one with ruffles you posted! My description of it sounds like a bad 80’s dress but it looks nice in the pic). But, I don’t think I’d have a formal enough wedding for something like that so I’d probably go with something less full.

    I will definitely bring my best friend. We’ve been friends since kindergarten so she knows me really well. Even though we have completely different styles, I trust she will tell me the truth about what looks good on me and fits my style.

  5. AH! that must be so much fun. i love dress #2. i haven’t shopped yet (obvi, don’t even have a bf, hahah) but i love simple long dresses with not a lot to them. who knows what i’ll like once i get married…if i get there! hahah 🙂 happy friday girlfriend!!

  6. Oh yay! Have fun wedding shopping!

    I’m a big fan of on the edge of the shoulder straps/pieces and fitted at the waist..but knowing me I’ll end up in something loose and not super fancy on a beach somewhere. 🙂

  7. I think I have some photos of my dress on the About Me page of my blog- mine was definitely not traditional. I went shopping two different days for THE DRESS- a month apart. I was so put off by my first trip (to David’s Bridal, trying on everything!) that I didn’t even want to go look again. I didn’t find anything remotely close to what I envisioned wearing. Then, on my second trip (to a small boutique bridal shop) I spotted a short dress and thought “what the heck.” I didn’t love the dress itself, but loved the length! The salesgirl actually suggested I try some bridesmaid dresses (in white). I found the PERFECT dress (that I ended up buying) and it was $180. And it was the most comfortable thing I could have worn (aside from shorts and a tank top) on that July day!

Whatcha think?

