Venues Pt. 3 & Successes Sunday: Week 5

In the fall Ryan and I spent many weekends touring potential wedding venues scattered throughout Northern Virginia and DC…  It was overwhelmingly exciting but completely exhausting so we decided to take a break.  We liked one particular venue more than the others but the price was a little steep so we wanted to explore other options…  On Saturday we visited another potential wedding venue!

Meadowlark Botanical Gardens:

“Celebrate in the breathtaking Atrium overlooking the Meadowlark Botanical Gardens. A beautifully landscaped facility with lush foliage, flowers, fountains and a meandering streams makes The Atrium an ideal and unique venue.”

  • Price Range: $$$
  • Ceremony and reception site
  • Indoor and outdoor space available
  • Capacity: up to 200
  • Styles: banquet/ reception hall, unusual/ alternative

**Descriptions and facts were found on The Knot website**

~~~~~

Successes Sunday

1.  Listen to my body. 

-Attend at least 1 fitness class a week.  Yup!  I went to my first BodyPump class on Sunday and even though all of the muscles in my body ache this morning, I LOVED IT!  Before the class started I introduced myself to the [very peppy] instructor and she told  me to stand front and center so she could help me with my technique…  Despite my hesitation, I did and I’m glad I overcame my nerves- I felt like I was in a 1-on-1 personal training session even though the room was filled wall-to-wall with people old and young, male and female!

-Take time to rest when I am exhausted or sick.  Yup!  I usually take 1 rest day a week but this week my body was sore so I listened to it and took 2 days off…

-Don’t sweat the small stuff.  Yup!  Last week I had a parent-teacher conference with a parent who I had never met before…  Despite having a few differing opinions, the meeting was successful and I’m optimistic about the student’s potential in my classroom.

2.  Save money.

-Clip coupons.  Yup!  I clipped a few from the circular and the newspaper

-Wait and shop sales.  Yup!  Ryan and I stocked up at the grocery store yesterday and scored some awesome deals, saving us almost $30!

-Buy what I need, not what I want.  Yup!  My only purchases this week were groceries.

3.  Train Charlie.

-To recognize his name and to come on command.  DONE!

-To sleep soundly throughout the night in his bed.  DONE!

 -To sit.  DONE!  

[the original 3 goals have been successfully accomplished so it’s time for a few new ones]

-To lay down.

-To lay in his bed.

-To immediately eat his food when he is fed.

Last Week’s Goals

-To schedule my workouts [independent and classes] into my calendar and stick to them.  Ehhh.  I scduled my workouts into my calendar but I switched rest days and added in an extra rest day.

-To recognize when Charlie needs to go out for a walk.  Ehhh.  He runs to the door when we say “outside” but we’re hoping that he’ll start telling us himself or will run to the door without any prompts…

-To start researching potential wedding venues.  Yup!  We visited Meadowlark Botanical Gardens on Saturday!

-Cook 2 hot dinners.  Yup!  I wasn’t very successful at this during the week but I made up for it over the weekend…  Monday night we went to Pulcinella’s to celebrate my momma’s birthday and dinners the rest of the week focused around some type of salad.  Saturday night I made pasta with mushrooms and turkey meatballs in a hummus tomato sauce and Sunday night I made calzones with turkey pepperoni!

This Week’s Goals

-To create a banner for LAB!

-To organize our home office.

-To go to the gym Tuesday and Wednesday morning before work.

-To bake a casserole, a quiche, or at least 1 new dish.

-To thoroughly enjoy a weekend getaway with Ryan to NYC!

P.S.  Thanks for all of your NYC recommendations!  I really wish we could go for more than 1 night…

Daily Memorable Moments

February 5:  Enjoying a sports-filled Sunday!  Ryan and I went to the Washington Capitals vs. Boston Bruins hockey game and later we watched the Super Bowl at our apartment with one of my girlfriends!

February 6:  This morning I woke up at 5:30AM and did a handful of things around the apartment before heading to work.  Productive morning = relaxing afternoon…

Question:  What goal did you accomplish last week or did you make for this week?

Question:  What’s your fave casserole or quiche recipe?

“To achieve your goals, make the right thing to do the easy thing to do.”

~ Dr. Oz

“You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”

~ Buddha

8 Comments

Filed under Charlie, Fitness, Food, Health, Money, Successes Sunday, Wedding

8 responses to “Venues Pt. 3 & Successes Sunday: Week 5

  1. That wedding venue looks amazing!!!! Great job getting your puppy to do his new tricks! I’m sure he’ll do great with the new ones!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks 🙂 That pic doesn’t even do it justice but I couldn’t find a good pic of all the gardens outside in bloom… Maybe I’ll have one with me in it in a few months ;D

  2. You are making some serious progress on the puppy training!! I loved this quiche recipe: http://carrotsncake.com/2010/07/tortilla-crusted-feta-and-broccoli-quiche.html

  3. i love that quote from The Buddha! 🙂

    and that picture of you and Charlie is too precious!!

    congrats on all the goals being met! nice werk!

  4. What a cool venue!

    Nice work training Charlie! My parent use a little bell on their door that they taught their dogs to hit whenever they needed to go outside. Every time they went outside they would say “outside”, help the dog hit the bell with his paw, and then go outside. It worked so well that I used that with Korky!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks 😀 One of our neighbors with a new puppy too mentioned getting a “door bell” for him! That’s a great idea…

Whatcha think?

