A Teacher Looking for Inspiration

This week has been chaotic since it’s the last week of the second quarter.  Grades need to be submitted.  Progress reports need to be written.  Student profiles need to be completed.  Papers need to be filed.  Needless to say, I’ve had a few too many late nights and very early mornings this week…  This morning I woke up thinking it was Saturday.  Bummer, it’s only Thursday!

After working 15+ hours yesterday and waking at 5AM this morning to pick up where I left off, three cups of coffee and a tasty bfast was not enough fuel for the rest of my day.  I needed some instant inspiration…  I read through a few of my previous posts about teaching [Mrs. Thomas, Getting Back Into the Groove, Black Banana Bowl, It’s Too Busyyy, Teaching From the Heart] and searched for quotes about “teaching” [quotes can be so powerful]…

“What is a teacher? I’ll tell you: it isn’t someone who teaches something, but someone who inspires the student to give of her best in order to discover what she already knows.”

~ Paulo Coelho

“It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.”

~ Albert Einstein

“Experience is the teacher of all things.”

~ Julius Caesar

“Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can’t lose.”

~ Bill Gates

“Only one person in a million becomes enlightened without a teacher’s help.”

~ Bodhidharma

“The greatest sign of success for a teacher… is to be able to say, “The children are now working as if I did not exist.”

~ Maria Montessori

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”

~ William Arthur Ward

“The important thing is not so much that every child should be taught, as that every child should be given the wish to learn.”

~ John Lubbock

“By learning you will teach; by teaching you will understand.”

~ Latin Proverb

“Once children learn how to learn, nothing is going to narrow their mind.  The essence of teaching is to make learning contagious, to have one idea spark another.”

~ Marva Collins

“A hundred years from now, it will not matter what kind of car I drove, what kind of house I lived in, how much money I had in the bank…  But the world may be a better place because I made a difference in the life of a child.”
~ Forest Witcraft

“The teacher is the one who gets the most out of the lessons, and the true teacher is the learner.”

~ Elbert Hubbard

Tonight I’m trading in my skirt for sweats, shoes for slippers, and grading for cuddling…

P.S.  It’s January 26th…  Christmas was over a month ago and the first month of the new year is already almost over!  Where has the time gone?

Daily Memorable Moment January 26:  Completing my student profiles AND transferring all of my second quarter grades from my gradebook to the computer grading program…  Tomorrow all I need to do is click “Export”!

Question:  Share a funny joke, I’m in need of a good laugh 😀

Question:  Is it your first year at your job?  How’s it going?  If not, how was your first year?

11 Comments

Filed under Charlie, Food, Inspiration & Motivation, Work

11 responses to “A Teacher Looking for Inspiration

  1. pomiami

    Allison, I found your post under the “Food” category and I couldn’t stop reading. it sounds like you really have had quite a week. I can relate to working through crunch time hours. Purchase Order of Miami has extremely busy seasons consisting of long hours, heavy lifting, and critical thinking for weeks on end. During my first year I didn’t know about the arduous work detail involved. So I struggled a great deal. Hang in there and keep reading those posts.

    I didn’t know what your type of humor was, so I picked one relevant to my job. I hope you like some simple “corny” food humor. Answers are below and no cheating on this test.

    1. Question: You throw away the outside and cook the inside. Then you eat the outside and throw away the inside. What did you eat?

    2. Question: What do you get if you divide the circumference of a pumpkin by its diameter?

    3. Question: What did the grape say when he was sat on?

    1. Answer: Corn on the cob: You throw away the skin or sheaf, then cook it, eat the corn, then throw away the cob.
    2. Answer: Pumpkin pi.
    3. Answer: Nothing, he just let out a little whine.

    I hope you enjoyed them. Check us out if you have a further interest in food and food service. Good Luck with grades.

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! Great jokes, I was totes stumped- gonna have to share them 😛 I will always have an interest in food- send me an email if you’re interested in any future projects together…

  2. I’m absolutely horrible at jokes…so sorry I don’t have one to cheer you up 😦

    but, I do love all those quotes!

  3. omg goodness girl, you ARE ONE BUSY CHICKIE! but, looks like you know the right way to relax 😉 tooooooo cute

  4. Joe and Dave are hunting when Dave keels over. Frantic, Joe dials 911 on his cell phone and blurts, “My friend just dropped dead! What should I do?” A soothing voice at the other end says, “Don’t worry, I can help. First, let’s make sure he’s really dead.” After a brief silence, the operator hears a shot. Then Joe comes back to the phone. “Okay,” he says nervously to the operator. “What do I do next?”

  5. Pingback: Five Things Friday | Life's a Bowl

  6. Pingback: Five Things Friday | Life's a Bowl

  7. Pingback: Five Things Friday 1.27.12 | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

