PB Love

So did you bet that I would or would not bump into Mr. Scar Man yesterday after posting my story?  Well, the gym was packed to capacity with many meat-head men, but that one specific meat-head man was nowhere to be seen…  Maybe I’ll see him today, maybe not, either way I’ll be okay 🙂

P.S.  You all ROCK and are super kind!  Thank you for your comments yesterday and reassuring me that A) scars are stories, B) scars are sexy, and C) scars = super short shorts.  I took C literally today and guess what…

Who wears short short?  I wear short shorts!

Yesterday’s workout went as planned [30 min cardio + weights] and I was dripping sweat by the end!  For weights I hit up the machines and did 3 sets of 15 reps of:

  • Back Extension
  • Abdominal
  • Calf raises
  • Row. rear deltoid
  • Lat pulldown
  • Hip abduction
  • Hip adduction
  • Pectoral fly/ rear deltoid
  • Stationary lunges

Today I did 45-minutes on the spin bike…

~~~~~

Last week I took my first bite of heaven in a long time, peanut butter.  Throughout elementary, middle, and high school my momma used to pack my lunches.  Everyday she tossed in a few sweet and salty surprises, but one thing was always the same…  A peanut butter sandwich.  Chunky peanut butter smothered on both sides [I didn’t like how the jelly made the bread soggy] of the whole wheat bread and if I was lucky, it was Great Harvest Honey Whole Wheat Bread!  My love for peanut butter was not only in sandwich form- peanut butter candy, cookies, cereal- I loved ’em all…

Source

After high school, my love for peanut butter was put on the back burner because prepping a peanut butter sandwich took too much time.  That’s a completely blatant lie because any peanut butter lover knows that one of the best ways [and the purest way] to eat peanut butter requires no utensils, just a finger.  I don’t know why I have deprived myself from the creamy, chunky, nutrient-rich, stuff for so long.  Sure I’ve had a bunch of peanut butter flavored products such as Peanut Butter Cookie Luna bars and Peanut Butter Puffins but they’re not the real deal.  To be honest, it’s because of my silly fear that it would make me fat.  I couldn’t be more WRONG!  Here are a few articles about peanut butter:

And guess what, IT’S NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER DAY!  HOORAY!

Source

When I started reading blogs a couple of years ago, one of the first things I noticed was that almost all of the blogs I read talked about eating peanut butter almost every day.  Every single day.  That’s a lot of nuts!  Well, since last week I’ve become a little bit more like one of the rest- I’ve been eating peanut butter every single day!  Peanut butter sandwiches, peanut butter waffles, peanut butter brancakes, peanut butter wraps, peanut butter yogurt…  The opportunities are endless!

In honor of National Peanut Butter Day, I’ve compiled a few drool-worthy peanut butter recipes [click link below the picture for source and recipe!]…

Peanut Butter Cup Blondies from Gingerbread Bagels

Peanut Butter-Banana Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies from Sugar Plum

Peanut Butter Pretzel Bites from Two Tiny Kitchens

Peanut Butter “Cheese Ball” from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Daily Memorable Moments

January 23:  Reading so many of your AWESOME comments about my encounter with Mr. Scar Man!

January 24:  Creating a [color-coded] laundry list of to-do’s and checking off a handful of things that need to get done before Friday…

Question:  Peanut butter, love it or can you do without it?

Question:  What’s your fave peanut butter recipe?

19 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Health, Recipes

19 responses to “PB Love

  1. Oh I love it! One of the healthiest fats there is! I eat almond butter or peanut butter or nuts just about every day, almond is my favorite because it’s such a nutritious nut:) I’m glad you’ve welcomed nut butters back! I live to use them in baking too instead of reg butter bc you cut down the sat fat by a ton!
    Ps… Love your blog… And your scars for that matter:)

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks chica! I’ve been eating raw nuts [almonds and pistachios] by the handful for years but just recently incorporated nut butters again [they’re my weakness hehe] 😀 I think a batch of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies will be baking in my oven this week…

  2. I am absolutely in love with peanut butter and cannot do with out it. Sometimes I can’t even go a day with out it! I LOVE peanut butter cookies, but right out of the jar or on an apple or banana is just as good 🙂

  3. Before I started reading blogs, I barely even liked peanut butter. Now, I can barely buy it because I eat it by the spoonful. Peanut butter and pretzels are my fav. However, in my defense, I’m currently in Europe, and I consider it essential to my protein intake abroad. 😉 Happy National Peanut Butter Day!

    • Life's a Bowl

      I have the same problem aka eating it by the spoonful whenever there’s a jar in my house! I love the sweet + salty combo and peanut butter + pretzels sounds awesome 😀

  4. Good for you! So proud you wore short shorts today!

    Love peanuts and peanut butter. I’m old school and love a good ooey gooey pb cookie. <—- my all time fav

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks 😀 I lucked out with the weather too, it was warmer than it has been recently… I think a batch of cookies will be baking in my oven this weekend… Have a good recipe?!

  5. Those peanut butter pretzel bites look AWESOME!
    and I love peanut butter, I actually just switched to almond butter in effort to “clean” up my eating and I am lovin almond buttter i have to admit!

  6. Well, I actually grew up with an allergy to PB, so I never got to like the taste… however every once in a while I have a craving for it. But that’s seriously like ONCE/yr. However, I do like almond butter, hazelnut butter, cashew butter, walnut butter, etc. SO…… that’s how I celebrated yesterday 🙂 A spoonful of walnut butter on my cottage cheese 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Oh nooo, peanut allergies are awful! I remember having a classmate in elementary school who was allergic to peanuts and he had to sit at the “peanut free table”- talk about total separation, totally awful… Ooo- I admit, I’ve never tried any other nut butters but I’ve seen a few in the store, but cashew and walnut?! I want some!!!

  7. OMG I think my mouth dropped open at peanut butter cheese ball:)

  8. omgggggggggggg! peanut butter cheeseball?! that looks insane!! WANT!!!

  9. Can’t. live. without. it. Plain and simple. I may have made my family send me a couple jars while I was studying abroad in Europe several years ago. I eat it everyday!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Haha, if I was abroad I’d have to ask my momma to send me over a few jars too 😛 Did you get a chance to try any foreign nut butters?!

  10. Pingback: Peanutty Holidays | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

