Successes Sunday: Week 2

This weekend was totally laid-back, relaxed, and unscheduled- it was fabulous!  The 3-day weekend in AM’s and PM’s…

Saturday AM:  Brancakes for bfast.

grapefruit, Italian eggs, turkey bacon, whole wheat brancakes

A quick trip to the vet to pick up meds for Charlie…  Last week we dropped off a fecal sample when Charlie was at the vet and it came back positive for a parasite.  Sick puppy, sad parents.  We started the meds Saturday night and will give him the last dose tonight…  It’s been a struggle to convince a puppy to eat a bowl of food with white powder sprinkled on top of it [but eggs have helped]!

Saturday PM:  Snack plate for lunch.

Met my momma at the mall for a pedi [and an extra 10-minute foot massage]…

Got my sweat on at the gym.

Celebrated my little sister’s 4th birthday [15+ 4-year-olds makes for a chaotic but fun party]!

We usually do Saturday night date night but since getting the puppy, I’ve had a hard time leaving him at home for extended periods of time [especially at night].  Ryan wanted to watch football anyways, so we made a quick trip to Target, Ryan picked up Five Guys, and I made some soup and quesadillas at home.

Sunday AM:  Cereal yogurt bowl for bfast- TJ’s Bran Flakes are awesome!

A crackling fire that Ryan tended to until noon.

Sunday PM:  Lunch date at the Teet- I love the salad bar, Ryan likes the sandwich line, and we usually bump into a friend or two!

Gym plans were abandoned and instead we did some errands.  TCS to buy a coupon book [for her] and the mall to buy a new pair of skate shoes [for him].

Since we had no other plans for the day, we ended up wandering around the mall, popping our heads into the “As Seen on TV” store…

all you need is the boots with the fur

people accidents?!  i hope they mean baby accidents…

nut cracking Hillary and cork screwing Bill

6 pack abs in a box!

…and LensCrafters.  Ryan found out that he has a astigmatism and needs glasses!  We looked at glasses and found a frame made my Ray-Ban that he really likes but they’re mucho monies so we decided to keep looking…

nerd of my life

We stocked up at Costco and were pleasantly surprised to see that they now carry Cliff Mojo bars!  For dinner, we did our typical Sunday night pizza night and curled up on the sofa watching football [his choice] and My Fair Wedding [her choice].

Today:  I’m thankful for having a 3-day weekend.  This morning I went to the Sony store for a camera tutorial, the afternoon has been full of chores around the house [laundry, dishes, prepping food for the week], and tonight I’m planning to make a delic dinner and watch The Bachelor…  It feels great getting things done!

Successes Sunday

Last week was good but not great- I’ll give myself the benefit of the doubt since it was only the first week.  This week’s summary…

1.  Listen to my body. 

-Attend at least 1 fitness class a week.  Nope.  Again, I planned to go to a couple of classes over the weekend but it didn’t happen.  I think putting workouts onto my calendar rather than fitting them into my other plans would help- if it’s on my calendar, I’ll stick to it.  No excuses.

-Take time to rest when I am exhausted or sick.  Yup!  I am still a little congested and get tired easily from having bronchitis [I heard it can take a couple of weeks to totally recover?] so I slept in and did easy workouts after school.

-Don’t sweat the small stuff.  Ehhh.  I don’t remember specific incidents from the week [will start keeping track] but this is definitely something I need to work on and I think this attributes to some of my symptoms…

“Emotion always has its roots in the unconscious and manifests itself in the body.”

~ Irene Claremont de Castillejo

2.  Save money.

-Clip coupons.  Yup!  I clipped a few coupons from the circular on Saturday and put them into my new coupon case!  Yesterday we used two coupons at Costco [for paper towels and VitaminWater Zero].

-Wait and shop sales.  Yup!  This week I only shopped for groceries.  I have a few gift cards to use but there’s nothing that I really need at the moment so I’m saving them for those “must-have” purchases!

-Buy what I need, not what I want.  Ehhh.  I got a pedi with my momma on Saturday and it’s the only one I’ve gotten this month so that’s okay [I saved the mani for a later date].  Where I slipped up was getting the extra 10-minute foot massage, something that I didn’t need but I wanted…

“Today, there are three kinds of people: the have’s, the have-not’s, and the have-not-paid-for-what-they-have’s.”

~ Earl Wilson

3.  Train Charlie.

-To recognize his name and to come on command.  Yup!  Everyday, he’s getting better with responding to his name and following directions.

-To sleep soundly throughout the night in his bed.  Ehhh.  We haven’t had any problems up until last night…  With whatever is going on with his stomach, he started yelping at 4AM this morning.  Ryan got up to take him out for a walk, but before he could get outside, he had an accident.  I then got up and helped clean up the accident.  We thought that he was done after the accident but he continued yelping so Ryan got up again and took him outside.  Supposedly the yelping was because he had to do some dirty business too [at least he made it outside]!  Ryan and I agreed that it wasn’t his fault since he’s not feeling well and at least he let us know he had to go…

 -To sit.  Ehhh.  When I give him a little treat every afternoon, I make him sit but have to help him.

“The greatest fear dogs know is the fear that you will not come back when you go out the door without them.”

~ Stanley Coren

Question:  Do you have any “As Seen on TV” products?  Ryan got me the “Slap Chop” for Christmas but I haven’t had a chance to use it… 

Question:  Seen any new products at Costco?

8 Comments

Filed under Charlie, Family, Fitness, Food, Health, Holidays, Money, Shopping, Successes Sunday

8 responses to “Successes Sunday: Week 2

  1. Your puppy is beyond adorable. I can’t get enough!

  2. Marcee

    Ohdear. Makes me sad that Charlie is under the weather. He is so absolutely gorgeous-adorable. Trust me ….. Charlie is smart! With each passing day you will learn from each other. There is nothing like a brand new puppy to teach and love ….. so wonderful.

    Take care of yourself Allison.

    Those products (??) are hysterical. Obviously, folks buy em. Ha.

  3. YAY for pedicures with Mama 😀 hehehehe I did that when I went home for break now every time I look at my toes I think of her ❤ hehe

  4. I love the slap chop!
    And i actually bought my new vaccuum because of an infomercial. the first time ive ever bought something just cuz of tv. and let me tell you it is the best thing EVER (the Shark).
    Love the booty pop hahaha

    • Life's a Bowl

      Do you have a Slap Chop?! I haven’t been dicing much but need to put it to use… I think the booty pop would be a fun investment ;P

Whatcha think?

