Successes Sunday: Week 1

I was so happy to get home tonight after a 12.5 hour day- half of it was spent at school, the other half in the car because we got our first dusting of snow.  FYI: whenever there’s even a speck of snow on the ground in DC, the roads get gridlocked.

Breakfast this morning was bananas!  I received one of the new Kashi TLC Chocolate Chip Banana Soft N’ Chewy Bars as a sample last week and knew I wanted to incorporate it into a breakfast bowl…  Last night I combined all of the ingredients in a to-go container and just mixed it all up this morning when I got to work- oh my goodness, it tasted like a chocolate chip banana bread pudding!  I always tell myself after eating a banana that I really should start eating them more often…

Knockoff Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Pudding

Plain Greek yogurt

Silk Light Vanilla

Cinnamon

Stevia

Kashi Go Lean

Peanut Butter Puffins

Kashi TLC Chocolate Chip Banana Soft N’ Chewy Bar

Banana

This past weekend seems to have completely flown by.  I woke both mornings, ate bfast, did a few things and within a blink of an eye it was time for lunch, dinner, and bed!

Sunday through my iPhone…

Successes Sunday

Last week I posted three goals that I will accomplish in 2012.  As previously mentioned, this is the first year that I have created meaningful New Years goals.  In order to keep track of my progress towards achieving those goals, I plan to do a weekly recap on Sundays titled “Successes Sunday”…  Although today is Monday, I didn’t do a recap yesterday so today is better than never, right?!

1.  Listen to my body. 

-Attend at least 1 fitness class a week.  Nope. I had plans to attend a BodyPump class this weekend but sleeping in and enjoying pancakes for breakfast sounded more appealing.

-Take time to rest when I am exhausted or sick.  Yup!  On Tuesday I went to the doctor and was told I had bronchitis.  I stayed home Wednesday and Thursday and relaxed [with Charlie] on the couch and feeding by body lots of liquids and soft foods.  I still managed to workout 6 days but the workouts were light and included a lot of walking and riding the spin bike [with little resistance].

-Don’t sweat the small stuff.  Ehhh.  For the majority of the week I did alright.  Of course I was frustrated that I was sick at home, but I made the most of my time and enjoyed playing with our new puppy.  Friday was one of my toughest days at work that I’ve had all year and I felt completely defeated but after the last bell rang, I had the weekend to look forward to…

2.  Save money.

-Clip coupons.  Yup!  The circular this weekend was filled with tons of coupons for products we use and foods that we eat on a consistent basis…

-Wait and shop sales.  Yup!  I didn’t do much shopping this week since we stocked up last weekend at Costco and according to Ryan I have enough clothes to wear a different outfit every day of the year [I beg to differ], but the few items that I did purchase were good deals- cranberry juice was BOGO [buy one, get one], banana nut VitaTops were on clearance, and frozen veggies were BOGO.  BTW [by the way], I always feel like I’m getting a good deal when I buy groceries at TJ’s since their prices are so low…

-Buy what I need, not what I want.  Yup!  I was super tempted to buy the new Cho flavors [apple cinnamon and ] but I knew there was a case full of Cho sitting in our fridge from Costco- urge resisted!  All other purchases were items that I needed for meals throughout the week…

3.  Train Charlie.

-To recognize his name and to come on command.  Ehhh.  The little pipsqueak def recognizes his name and [most of the time] will come on command…

-To sleep soundly throughout the night in his bed.  Yup!  He barks for 2-3 minutes immediately after we put him into his crate but then he settles down.  He has only had 1 accident in the crate but we think it was because he got scared when the plastic shoe box in his crate fell on him.  The kennel recommended that we put something into the back of the crate to minimize the available space- there is just enough room for him to stand up, turn around, and lay down [this is supposed to help train them to not go to the bathroom in their “room”]…

 -To sit.  Ehhh.  We’re still working on it, granted we’ve only had him for 5 days [haha]…

Daily Memorable Moments

January 8:  Having lunch with two of my fave people at the Teet and having Ryan go with me to the gym for a cardio + weight workout [it’s really hard to concentrate or have good form when someone is making you laugh]!

January 9:  Going to for my routine 4-month melanoma check-up and being told that I have no abnormal moles!  Both scars are healing properly but have stretched so my doctor has recommended that I apply a serum 3 times a day for the next 3 months…

“Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.”

~ William Arthur Ward

Question:  What’s your fave banana recipe?

Question:  Whatcha do over the weekend?

12 Comments

Filed under Charlie, Family, Fitness, Food, Health, Money, Shopping, Successes Sunday, TV & Movies

12 responses to “Successes Sunday: Week 1

  1. Oh, I absolutely love love love banana bread! But I am big on simplicity, so I actually really enjoy just pb and banana sandwiches! So tasty!

    • Life's a Bowl

      PB and banana sandwiches are one of my childhood faves! My mom never made them for me [she made PB&J] so it was always a treat when I’d have lunch at a friend’s house and her mom would make us PB and honey with banana sandwiches!

  2. I hate bananas, but I love them in smoothies. I’m about to make one!! Lol. My weekend was pretty chill because my husband had a LOT of homework, but I got to run with a friend so that was fun!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Really? Their taste or texture? I prefer an apple or pear usually because I like the snap-factor but am always reminded how good bananas are when I have one [so sweet]! Runs with friends are always fun, bummer about the man having lots of HW :/

  3. anything that combines bananas and chocolate is good with me! I also like frozen bananas in a smoothie!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Ooo, bananas + chocolate is def a great combo! TJ’s has chocolate covered banana chips in the freezer aisle that I’ve been eyeing for a while and wanna try 🙂

  4. Wow, your “banana bread bowl” looks like an amazing way to start the day! I wish Kashi products were wheat-free! I miss their granola bars and cereals so much!

    I love banana everything: bread, muffins, pudding…And they’re fantastic “grilled” on the stove, which makes them sweeter!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Oh nooo, I never really thought about that- they don’t have any wheat-free products?! Oye, IDK what I’d do, I love their stuff! Grilled bananas are great with french toast!

  5. Im sorry and I hope I dont sound nosey but I am really curious about your mention of melanoma and your checks! (I am a semi new reader so I apologize if I probably missed something in a past post!) but is there a reason you do the normal checks, and have you had some removed? I have a couple I am going to get checked soon (and that I keep an eye on) and that is the reason for my crazy curiousity!!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Over the summer I had two shave biopsy’s done [they shave off the top layer of a mole]- one on my right and one on my left. The results came back as melanomas so soon after, I had two minor surgeries to remove them… The procedure itself was not too bad other than feeling the doctor pull and tug on my skin and the sounds, but the recovery was a little tough since there were 3 layers of incisions. After any type of cancer treatment, they recommend to get checked approximately every 3 months to monitor the existing sites and if anything new has developed.

  6. Pingback: Bombastic Beans | Life's a Bowl

  7. Pingback: Successes Sunday: Week 2 | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

