Optimism Overpowers Pessimism

99% of the time I am optimistic and try to find the good in everything- if I look hard enough, usually I can find it.

Source

But this morning is one of those times when I’m having a hard time finding any good… I am back at school after being out for two days due to bronchitis and I’m still feeling under the weather. My body aches, my head is throbbing, my eyes feel like I just cried, my chest is heavy, and it’s hard to breath. Things at school this morning have not been that great either. When unlocked my classroom door, I was greeted with what looked like ruminants from a tornado- uncapped markers bleeding all over the books, papers spewed across the floor, desks all out of line, and my desk was covered in pencil shavings and eraser crumbles. I had a huge mess to clean up. And to top it off, after talking to a couple other teachers who attended a meeting that I was supposed to also attend yesterday, I was informed that one of my students’ mother is not happy with her his current placement or the curriculum that I have been teaching for him for the past four months.

Just remember…  BREATHE, JUST TAKE A DEEP BREATH. IT WILL ALL BE OKAY.

Sometimes in the moment of things, I get myself so worked up and get overwhelmed. Granted, today I’m not feeling 100%, but still, it shouldn’t be an excuse. As I mentioned yesterday, in 2012, I will truly listen to my body and feed it what it needs.

Today, my body [and my mind] needs to relax. I need to realize that despite a messy classroom, the past two days went off without a hitch- according to the substitutes note, my students were all well behaved and completed their work. I need to accept the fact that despite my best efforts as a first-year teacher I am not going to be able to please everyone, I can only promise to try my best. I need to not fret if I don’t finish all of the work that I missed the past two days, I can always bring it home and complete over the weekend.

Just remember…  BREATHE, JUST TAKE A DEEP BREATH. IT WILL ALL BE OKAY.

I may not be able to see any optimism in the current situation but that doesn’t mean there won’t be any for the rest of the day. After school I have a precious puppy anxiously waiting for me to get home and later my fabulous fiancé will come home. I’m not sure what we’ll end up doing tonight since I’m pretty tired already [and it’s only 10AM] but maybe we’ll watch True Grit since it’s been sitting on our TV console for the past two weeks?!

Source

~~~~~

A while back, I was reading an Iowa Girl Eats “Friday Favorites” post and saw an awesome idea for creating an index card journal. Humans are pretty amazing in that they can remember many, many things for their whole lifetime but at least for me, a little reminder never hurt. In addition, I’ve always said that I think it’s the little things [everyday happenings] in life that are precious and memorable but oftentimes, those little things are forgotten about.

Source

In addition to my 2012 goals, in 2012 I plan to keep track on a daily basis of something memorable- something that I did, something that I saw, something that I heard, or just something that left a lasting impression on me. Inspired by the index card journal, I plan to share a “Day’s Memorable Moment” [DMM] at the end of each post. Although the first week of the New Year is already coming to an end, I’ve been keeping track of memorable moments since January 1st…

January 1:  Waking up happy and healthy to a new year and dreaming about what 2012 may hold…

January 2:  Taking down the Christmas decorations- this year was the first year that I had a Christmas tree covered in tinsel or “icicles” as Ryan calls it [haha]…  And let me tell you, those icicles “dripped” [aka clung] onto you anytime you walked by, didn’t even have to touch it!

January 3:  We brought Charlie home!!!

January 4:  Charlie kept me company at home while I was sick- we had fun taking pictures and making videos on Photo Booth and sent them to Ryan while he was at work…

January 5:  I used our crock pot for the second time to make and easy-peasy crock pot chicken soup

!

January 6:  TBA…

“We begin to find and become ourselves when we notice how we are already found, already truly, entirely, wildly, messily, marvelously who we were born to be.”

~ Anne Lamott

P.S.  That was just a lot of words, the next post will be very picture-dense…  Perhaps Charlie related?!

Question:  Do you see the glass half full or half empty?

Question:  How do you “store” your memories?  Index cards?  A photo album?  A scrapbook?

8 Comments

Filed under Inspiration & Motivation, Work

8 responses to “Optimism Overpowers Pessimism

  1. sorry you had a rough couple days!! I hope you are feeling better now! I try to take one moment at a time if I can….trying to stay in the present and think about what I can do at that moment to switch my energy around.

    happy weekend, beautiful!

  2. I’ve seen that journal idea. I love it!! I can’t decide if I’m optimistic or not. Depends on the subject. 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks- I think it’s gonna be fun to look back a couple of weeks, months, or next year and see what was going on!

  3. Thats a really cool idea. Sometimes life passes by so quickly, its a nice idea to remember little moments 🙂

    I am trying to be less ‘glass half full’. A work in progress.

    I am taking a lot more photos since I recently started blogging so I will have more memories as well 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      I definitely think blogging helps keeping track of happenings and it’s fun to be able to share them with family, friends, and other bloggers!

  4. Rough days blow.. blow over.. Way to look for the positive even though its rough.
    I love the card idea!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Yesterday is gone and a new day has begun 😀 Love the idea of keeping track of memories- it can be easy to forget those little things but sometimes those little things shape the big things!

Whatcha think?

