In 2012, I Will…

Every year I make a New Years resolution but forget about it within the first week…  Why?  Because I made a resolution just for the heck of making a resolution and that’s what people do for a New Year.  This year is different.  This year, I have created three goals that I will accomplish by December 31, 2012.

1.  Listen to my body.

I have always lived an active and healthy lifestyle but since I was diagnosed with Lupus in college, I have begun to realize how important it is to take care of myself.  Although I consume a healthy diet, go to the gym on a daily basis, and often go to bed by 9PM there are things that I can improve upon such sleep and accepting that not everything is in my control.  In 2012, I will truly listen to my body and feed it what it needs in regards to food, fitness, and relaxation.

-Attend at least 1 fitness class a week.

-Take time to rest when I am exhausted or sick.

-Don’t sweat the small stuff.

Source

2.  Save money.

I am fortunate that I got a job immediately after graduation in May [teaching special education], but unfortunately teaching isn’t a millions-making profession.  I still want to enjoy some of my favorite luxuries like shopping, getting my nails done, seeing a movie, going out to eat, and traveling, but there are definitely ways that I can still enjoy those things and save money.  For example, I don’t need to buy a new dress for a special occasion; rather, I can buy a new necklace to accessorize a dress I already have.  I don’t need to get my nails done every other week; rather, I can go once a month with my momma or a girlfriend and relax with good company.  In 2012, I will become more frugal about how I spend my money and make the most of the things that I already have.

-Clip coupons.

-Wait and shop sales.

-Buy what I need, not what I want.

Source

3.  Train Charlie.

I couldn’t be happier having a new puppy.  The first few days have been filled with tons of playing, cuddling, a couple of accidents, and lots of laughs.  We don’t expect the first year to be easy and are ready for the challenge.  In 2012, Ryan and I will make the effort and take the time to train Charlie.

-To recognize his name and to come on command.

-To sleep soundly throughout the night in his bed.

-To sit.

“Crystallize your goals. Make a plan for achieving them and set yourself a deadline. Then, with supreme confidence, determination and disregard for obstacles and other people’s criticisms, carry out your plan.” ~ Paul Meyer

“If you have a goal in life that takes a lot of energy, that requires a lot of work, that incurs a great deal of interest and that is a challenge to you, you will always look forward to waking up to see what the new day brings.” ~ Susan Polis Schultz

“Goals are dreams with deadlines.” ~ Diana Scharf Hunt

Question: What healthy things do you do for your body?

Question:  What’s your best money-saving tip?

Question:  What’s your best puppy training tip?

17 Comments

Filed under Charlie, Family, Fitness, Food, Health, Inspiration & Motivation, Money, Shopping, Successes Sunday

17 responses to “In 2012, I Will…

  1. Shelley

    i think the biggest thing I want to focus on in relation to my body is to rest when I need it! I love exercise and it has amazing benefits, but sometimes I just need a break, which can be hard to do!

    For saving money, I try to just not buy things I don’t need or won’t use. It’s hardest with clothes, so if I am not replacing something that is worn out or if it is not a wardrobe staple I try to shy away as I already have more than I need!

    I did a puppy training class with my puppy when we got him (I was in 3rd grade at the time) and it was a lot of work, but it helped knowing that we had a class to go to each week. Plus a dog show at the end 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      I can totally relate- I often will push myself to the breaking point before realizing I need to relax… I only remember a little bit about training my family’s puppy when I was in elementary school, I mostly remember how much of a [cute] terror she was haha 😛

  2. I think listening to your body is a great resolution. I try to do this as much as I can. I’ve definitely gotten better about listening to my body in terms of working out – when it’s injured/just needs a rest. But I think I need to do a better job at knowing when to slow down in other aspects of my lift, too

    Saving money is something I’ve been trying to do, too. It’s tough. I joined mint.com and that has helped me keep track of my spending / budgeting. I definitely recommend it!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! Learning when I need to rest is def something I need to focus on- I tend to push myself until the breaking point [aka exhaustion]. I’ll have to check out mint.com- I’ve used Quicken in the past but it’s not installed on my new computer. Thankfully, my bank has a pretty good system that outlines my spending but I’d rather be able to personalize it myself…

  3. The best things I do for my body are MOVING IT and eating vegetables. I’m not so good with the finanace and puppy tips. Our dog is a basket case!! Lol.

    • Life's a Bowl

      Those are def good things and I love doing both of them myself! Haha, maybe we both can learn something about finances and puppies this year ;P

  4. I think all your goals are great and very attainable! I too am trying to listen to my body this year since I’ve been plagued with injuries and by ignoring them it only gets worse, no good!

    And my best money saving tip is to allocate myself only a certain amount of money with every pay check i get. It doesn’t matter what kind of week or event I have coming up, I always give myself the same amount. It means that weeks before I have to think about saving up for it, and I do!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Injuries and illness have been my biggest obstacles- the motivation is there, just need my body to heal itself… That’s a great tip, I really should make a budget and define a limit!

  5. Great goals!
    Saving money is always one of mine. This last year really took it out of us since we spent all of our savings on the move, etc and furniture and stuff when we got here… I have this weird anxiety with making big purchases at the moment (why we dont have a washer or dryer or a new tv or dining room table yet! haha) Im working on finding the “money balance” right now!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Unfortunately, the anxiety comes AFTER I make those big purchases- a little too late, ha! I don’t mind having outdated electronics [tv’s comp’s, etc.] but new is always nice… I bought a bunch of our furniture and my fiance bought a bunch of the electronics- I just let him do his thing and he lets me decorate the apartment 😛

  6. I need to work on saving money also! Lately its just been going towards rent and bills. My puppy training tip is that I took Maverick to a certified dog trainer back in North Carolina! And my dad is practically a dog whisperer so between the two of them Maverick was under control haha

    • Life's a Bowl

      My money has been going to bills and big purchases- furnishing a new apartment, Christmas, and a puppy all within the past 3 months have completely depleted my bank account! Did the dog trainer come to your house or did you go to him? I’ve heard that it helps doing it in the dog’s typical environment [could be bogus!]…

  7. Wonderful goals! I love that you put ways to accomplish the goals too. It makes them seem much more achievable.

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! After my fiance read the goals about training Charlie he said we need to adjust them since he’s a quick learner- he’s already coming to his name and sitting [on his own]!

  8. Pingback: Successes Sunday: Week 1 | Life's a Bowl

  9. Pingback: Successes Sunday: Week 3 | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

