Hasta la Vista Winter Break

It’s Monday morning and I’m at home still in my PJ’s drinking a warm cup of coffee- yippee for winter break, but boo for it being the last day…  I didn’t sleep well last night- my throat felt scratchy which made it hard to breathe and my body ached, hence why I woke up at a whopping 5:30AM [so much for sleeping in].  Unfortunately, I think that I may have caught a little cold- timing could not be worse!

I probably should have made a big bowl of oatmeal [soft/ liquid warmth = comfort on a sore throat] but my stomach was telling me otherwise…

i accidentally dropped the eggs, but neither ended sunny-side up!

2 tablespoons whole wheat flour + 2 tablespoons oat bran + 1/4 teaspoon baking powder + pumpkin pie spice + cinnamon + Splenda

all together now

always save the best for last

topped with cottage cheese + pumpkin puree + pumpkin pie spice + Splenda

They may not have been the best choice for my sore throat, but they were the best choice for my tummy!  I’ll try to make more conscious choices the rest of the day- Sbucks, soups, ice cream…  I think I can handle any or all of those!

I have thoroughly enjoyed my first winter break as a teacher!  I’ve relaxed on the couch, spent time with my family and friends, celebrated the holidays, got spoiled with gifts, seen a few movies, picked out a puppy, and have completely neglected to do any type of “work” [workouts don’t count, they’re fun work in my mind]- I’d say it’s definitely been a successful week…  Today I’m planning to be productive and make all of my morning to-do’s my evenings to-done’s [hopefully whatever I may have caught doesn’t slow me down]!  First to-do, put away the Christmas decorations and take down the tree…

hasta la vista Christmas, only 11 more months till you shall appear again!

our first Christmas [living] together

“To make an end is to make a beginning.”

~ T.S. Eliot

Question:  What’s your fave french toast topping?

Question:  Do you save the best [food] for last, or eat it first?  I save the best for last but my Dear eats the best first…  To each his own!

14 Comments

Filed under Food, Health, Holidays, Work

14 responses to “Hasta la Vista Winter Break

  1. I hope that your throat gets better soon. No fun. The breakfast looks lovely though!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! No idea where it came from, no family or friends I’ve been around was or is sick… Probs a random passerby :/

  2. We’re taking down our Christmas decorations now too, which makes me so sad! But I remind myself that the holidays will be here again before we know it…Doesn’t it seem like every year passes faster than the last? 🙂

    LOVE your breakfast! I usually save at least a few bites of the best for last, but I can never go my entire meal without eating my favorite item on the plate! I usually take a few bites of one thing, move onto the next, then the next, etc., until everything is gone.

    Hope you feel better soon, Allison! xoxo

    • Life's a Bowl

      Only 11 more months till they’ll appear again ;P Thanks, no clue where I may have caught it from- hope it goes away as quickly as it came!

  3. Marcee

    Very healthy breakfast Allison! Eggies = great protein. Then there’s this ….. U know what they say ….. “an apple a day …..” also seasonal clementines! So good this year. Crate #3 for us!

    You will get better real soon. Please give us “Charlie” stories from time-to-time. Such a cutie-pie he is! I just {{heart}} poodles.

    Returning to work tomorrow is a bummer. Ick. But, I gotta pay my bills. Very glad you had a wonderful holiday.

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! I will def share stories 🙂 Hopefully we’ll pick him up tomorrow [we picked him out and paid for him last week but have to give our landlord a deposit before we can bring him home]…

  4. Oooh, I like the idea of cottage cheese + pumpkin puree + pumpkin pie spice. I might have to borrow that idea!

    My favorite French toast topping is peanut butter + maple syrup. Mmm!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Totally, it’s one of my fave combos! I really need to start using PB more often… Now that it’s really starting to feel like winter, oatmeal will be a good bfast option and a dollop of PB would be a perfect addition!

  5. I have that same mug, with my initial on it! From Anthropologie, yeah? Happy 2012!

  6. I always save the best foods for last! Its like a little treat at the end!

  7. HOpe you feel better soon! sore throats are the worst! I have yet to take down christmas..

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! Unforunately, I think I have bronchitis… Have an appointment later today and hopefully will start some antibiotics!

Whatcha think?

