25 Christmas Questions

After reading a couple of  bloggers answers [Carrie and Julie] to “25 Questions: Holiday Style” I wanted to do my own.  It’s such a fun way to reflect upon holiday traditions and share ideas with others 😀

  • Eggnog or hot chocolate?  Eggnnog at holiday parties, hot chocolate for less formal occasions.  When I was younger, I would always ask for a little cup of eggnog at holiday parties my parents hosted [it made me feel so mature]- it’s so rich, a little goes a long way!
  • Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?  Presents always were, and always will be wrapped- giving them a little shake, guessing what they are, and unwrapping them is half the fun!
  • Colored lights on tree/house or white?  Colored lights on the tree and white lights around the house and outside
  • Do you hang mistletoe?  Nope, never have and have no clue where people buy it?!  Does it come from a bush?  A tree?

Source

  • When do you hang your decorations up?  The weekend after Thanksgiving
  • What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?  Honey Baked Ham, mmm…
  • Favorite holiday memory as a child?  Waking up in the morning and reading Santa’s response to the note that I left for him!
  • What is on your Christmas wish list?  A puppy!  Anddd some clothes from lululemon, a new pair of Ugg’s, and a heart monitor watch
  • Do you open gifts on Christmas Eve?  Yup!  When we were younger, my brother and I were allowed to open one gift on Christmas Eve.  As we got older, we would stay up until midnight so we could open all of our gifts- 12:00AM is a new day!  We saved our stockings until the morning…
  • How do you decorate your Christmas tree?  Colored lights and a collection of random ornaments.  This is the first year that my Dear and I are living together and we finished decorating our tree last night!  We used colored lights, gold globe ornaments, and a few miscellaneous ornaments that we received as gifts at our engagement party…  Oh, and we threw some “icicles” [aka tinsel] since my Dear had it on his tree growing up!

Source

  • Snow? Love it or dread it?  Love it to play in, but dread it to drive in!  Maybe the east coast will get some once this unseasonably warm weather passes…
  • Real tree or fake tree?  100% real baby
  • Do you remember your favorite gift?  I can’t remember one specific gift, I’m lucky and have gotten a lot of things that I’ve asked for throughout the years.  The “gift” that stands out the most in my mind is when we snuck my younger brother out of the hospital to celebrate Christmas at home- we spent Christmas the year [or two] before in the hospital but it wasn’t the same…
  • What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?  Spending time with my family and friends, as well as carrying on the traditions that we have created throughout the years.  I love everything about the holiday season- the spirit, the decorations, the festivities…
  • What is your favorite holiday dessert?  Almost anything gingerbread or peppermint flavored, mmm…

Source

  • What is your favorite tradition?  When my parents separated in high school, it was hard for my brother and I to split our time during the  holiday’s between two houses so developing traditions was important.  One of my favorite traditions that my brother and I do with my momma is to see a movie on Christmas day!
  • What tops your tree?  A gold star with poinsettia-like leaves on each point and little pearls in the middle.  I found it at a thrift store this week and it caught my eye…  Growing up, we always had a Waterford crystal ball on the top of our tree.
  • Do you prefer giving or receiving?  I prefer giving and seeing the smile on the receivers face [assuming they like the present, ha]!  Although, receiving is always nice too- can anyone really say that they don’t like receiving a present?!
  • What is your favorite Christmas song?  Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You”-  it could play one repeat and I’d be just as excited to hear it the 100th time as the 1st time!
  • Candy canes, yuck or yum?  Yum if broken up on top of peppermint bark but yuck in cane form- they always cut my tongue!
  • Favorite Christmas movie?  Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation

Source

  • What do you leave for Santa?  Cookies and milk [and a note]
  • Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?  Being the first to wake up, waking up the rest of the house, opening our stockings, and eating breakfast on my momma’s winter mitten themed dishware…
  • Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?  At the mall!  I love oooh-ing and ahhh-ing at all of the decorations and don’t really mind all of the hustle and bustle…
  • Christmas letter or Christmas card?  My brother and I got our pictures taken professionally every fall.  My momma would choose the best picture of us together, pair it with a pretty card, and that would be our Christmas card- she probs sent out at least 100 cards to our family and friends!  I can’t wait to send out my first Christmas card with my Dear, maybe next year?!

P.S. 9 DAYS TILL CHRISTMAS!!!

Source

Question:  What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Question:  What is your favorite Christmas movie?

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Food, Friends, Holidays, Shopping, TV & Movies

Whatcha think?

