Learning About LAB

1. What is your name, blog name, and how did you create your blog title?

Name: Allison

Blog Name: Life’s A Bowl…  I tried to think of a catchy title to reflect my life and likes/dislikes, but I had a hard time finding the right combo of words.  When I stumbled upon a picture of the phrase “Life’s a ball” [meaning life is fabulous] I thought it was perfect!  I personalized it to “Life’s a Bowl” to reflect my the crazy and unpredictable things that happen throughout my life 😛

2. What is one goal you’re working towards right now?

I’d love to successfully complete a half-marathon.  I’ve trained for both a half-marathon and a full-marathon over the past few years, but those plans had to be put on hold due to medical reasons.  This year I am hoping to complete a 5K, 10K, 15K, and a half-marathon.

3. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Hm, really only one?  Bread?!  A hunk of crusty baguette…  But really, only one?

4. How would you describe your blogging style?

I’d like to say that I try to maintain a healthy lifestyle so I’d like to consider myself a “healthy living” blogger, but I’ve noticed that my posts def don’t always include what I think to be is the typical “healthy living” blog posts [an outline of my eats from throughout the day, or a summary of my workout].  Rather, my posts tend to focus on certain things that have left a lasting impression on me, but not always!  Some days I have no clue what in the world to post and will stumble around on the internet till I find something interesting…  So what kind am I?!

5. What is the average amount of time you spend writing a post? 

To be honest, I can’t seem to write a post in less than 30 minutes!  I’m amazed and maybe a little jealous, of all the bloggers who can post in under 10 minutes!  Maybe you could say that I’m a little OCD, but I seem to write something, read it, delete it, rewrite it, add pictures, format the pictures, check my spelling, preview the page, and then post it- all of which may be repeated multiple times [ha]!

6. Do you have days when you just don’t feel like eating healthy, cooking, or exercising?

Uhhh, don’t we all?!  That’s why someone invented lounge clothes and slippers, microwavable meals, comfy couches, and pointless reality shows!  Although I will admit, I do feel like exercising most days- even if I don’t go to the gym, I prefer to be moving [doing errands or going for a walk] than sitting.

7. What is something about you that would shock us?

I don’t know how to truly relax.  All my life, I’ve been go-go-go from one thing to the next, from 6AM till 9PM…  I certainly don’t mind the fast-paced lifestyle [and actually prefer it], but sometimes I just need a break from everything.  My biggest problem is that I have a hard time recognizing when I need to take that break, to have some time to myself.  Recently, I’ve started going to the gym before work [@ 5:30AM] and have been loving it because I can go home right after school and have a snack, catch up on my shows, and read some blogs…  That’s relaxation.

“When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.”

~ Lao Tzu

P.S.  I updated the “22 While 22” page!

Question:  How did you create your blog title?

Question:  What is something that would shock people if you told them?

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Fitness, Food, Health

4 responses to “Learning About LAB

  1. Hi,

    I saw your question on Kath’s blog about having nice looking cookies and wanted to respond. I’ve always found a cookie scoop to be helpful. I have a few that I use when baking and it leads to cookies that are much more uniform. I also think the type of recipe you use makes a difference as some cookies tend to spread and flatten more than others. I’ve personally found that higher fat cookies (and generally those with white vs. whole wheat flour) tend to flatten out/have less jagged edges because they spread more vs. ‘healthier’ cookies that tend to be more dense. Hope that helps!

    • P.S. I also see you are a BU alum. I am as well. 🙂

      • Life's a Bowl

        Gah, I graduated in May and I’m especially missing it now- Newbury St. and the entire city was beautiful during the holiday season! I’m hoping to go back- I didn’t make it up for Alumni weekend but maybe I can use Winterfest as my “excuse” 😉

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks so much for the tips! I don’t bake cookies all too often, but around the holiday’s that seems to be one of the only things I want to do 🙂 Lately, I’ve been making break-and-bake cookies from Whole Foods [for my Dear and I]… Don’t get me wrong, they’re def delic, but it would be more satisfying to make homemade ones!

Whatcha think?

