Running: A Love-Hate Relationship

I was supposed to run in the Hot Chocolate 15K/5K this past Saturday morning down at the Washington National Harbor, but that didn’t happen.  I as a little disappointed because I was looking forward to doing a race with a couple of my girlfriends, but I guess that it all worked out for the better- I heard [and saw on the news] that there were many unfortunate happenings [accidents and traffic jams, a delayed start, a dangerous and narrow route], bummer :/

Source

I’ll be totally honest…  I have a love-hate relationship with running.

I love the endorphin rush I get during a run.  I love exploring my surroundings when I’m running outdoors and I love catching up with my shows when I’m running indoors.  I love how my muscles ache after a run.

I hate the anticipation and thoughts that run through my head before I run.  I hate the fear that I have of hurting myself during a run.  I hate the pain in my joints after a run.

Source

Over the summer I was training for the Baltimore Half-Marathon but my training was put on hold after I had two minor  surgeries on my legs to remove melanomas.  After the surgeries, I listened to my doctor’s recommendation to take about a month off from running.  But, after a few complications  during the healing process [a hematoma on one leg, a popped stitch on the other leg], I’m hesitant to start running again.

Ironically, this was not the first time my training had to be put on hold due to a medical problem.

During the spring of my sophomore year in college, I had the crazy idea to register for the NY Marathon.  Since I played competitive sports all of my life, I was bored with sub-average gym workouts and needed some excitement!  What could be more exciting than completing a marathon?! One of my girlfriends decided to join me she but didn’t get into the NY marathon, so we ultimately decided to train for a smaller marathon on the Cape.  Over the summer I decided to join a running group which was a great decision- we completed shorter runs individually throughout the week and met up for longer, group runs every Saturday morning in D.C.  When I went back to school in the fall, I didn’t feel right [my body ached and I was always tired].  After many visits to the university’s student health services, urgent care, and the hospital, I was diagnosed with Lupus and iron deficiency anemia- no wonder I felt like a 90-year-old woman!  My doctor’s advised me to take some time off from running to let my body heal.

With the support from my family and friends, help from my doctors, and various treatments, I finally started to feel like myself again a few month later-  my joints didn’t ache as much, I didn’t have as many headaches, and I didn’t feel like sleeping all the time…  But one part of me felt like it never got back to normal…  The desire to push myself beyond my potential [my desire to run distance].

Maybe I got stuck in a runners rut, or maybe it was my body telling me that I cannot handle running distance.  Regardless, it’s fostered a love-hate relationship with running in me.  Some days I anxiously await the opportunity to run miles and forget my daily to-do’s, other days I cannot even fathom the thought of running.  If only there was more love and less hate…

Saturday, I loved my run.  The weather was beautiful [sunny and the perfect temperature], and  I ran 4.1 miles!

FOR THE LOVE OF RUNNING…  I WILL START RUNNING AGAIN!

P.S.  How perfect is this shirt?!  I want [rather, need] it 😛

Source

“We’re the creators of our own experience—remembering this, and living our lives from this perspective, empowers us.”

~ Mike Robbins

Question:  Do you love or hate running?

Question:  What’s your favorite motivational quote?

9 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Health, Inspiration & Motivation

9 responses to “Running: A Love-Hate Relationship

  1. running can be such a mixed bag. i am most definitely in a rut right now after a few bad runs recently, i think a sign of burnout. taking advantage of major rest these next few weeks to physically & mentally prepare for a new training season and goal races! glad you rocked a great run on saturday!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Sounds like a great plan! Sorry to hear about bum races recently, the mood of the race [and your own personal mood] can totally affect your desire to run- as seen in my story! I think I’ve relaxed long enough and am ready to run 😀 Just unfortunate timing with the weather getting colder…

  2. I love running! I would be completely lost without it and pretty sad too (due to lack of endorphins). Plus I often wonder- what do non runners do with all their time? 😉

    But I totally understand running can be a bit a jerk sometimes. Injuries suck. Plus running in extreme heat or cold- ditto.

    Glad you had a nice sunny saturday run! They’re the best.

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks, it felt great! Haha, I know, what to do with all the spare time?! I get stir-crazy after a while of being in the same place [I don’t think I could ever stay in my apartment for a whole day]!

  3. I feel the same way…I love / hate running as well! Sometimes I find myself wondering why I’m doing it and other times I can’t imagine not running

  4. Pingback: Learning ABout [LAB] « Life's a Bowl

  5. Pingback: Mr. Scar Man | Life's a Bowl

  6. Pingback: 12 Random Facts | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

