Cakes & Chops

On Sunday I made myself a breakfast fit for a Queen: fruit, egg whites, bacon, and brancakes 😀  I love the grainy and hearty texture, as well as the fluffiness of the brancakes…  But of course, any pancake is good is a good cake in my mind!

Brancakes

1/4 cup oat bran

1 whole egg OR 2 egg whites

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

A few heavy dashes of cinnamon (to your liking)

A sprinkle (or packet) of sugar

A splash of water (to thin out the batter to desired thickness)

Mix, mix, mix…  Pour, pour, pour… Eat, eat, eat…  More, more, more…  Happy, happy, happy girl!

I topped my brancakes with a dollop of fat-free Greek yogurt mixed with cinnamon and a little sugar…

*If you prefer lighter and airier ‘cakes, you can grind up the oat bran in a food processor*

*Cocoa powder, pumpkin, bananas, and/ or blueberries are always great additions to any type of ‘cake*

If you don’t have time to make homemade ‘cakes, I highly recommend De Wafelbakkers All-Natural A+ Cinnamon Whole Grain Spelt Sweet Potato Pancakes…  YUM!

~~~~~

Since we have what seems like an endless supply of pork chops in our freezer [thanks to Costco], I decided to try a new pork chop recipe…  For some reason when I think of pork I think of salty and sweet?!

Pork Chops with Fruit Juice Celery Slaw

2 pork chops

4 celery stalks, diced into 1/2 inch pieces

1 cup shredded cabbage mix

Salt

Pepper

1/2 cup fruit juice

Spray the pan lightly with non-stick spray…  Season the pork chops with salt and pepper and brown on both sides… Add the celery and cabbage to the pan…  Once the celery and cabbage have softened, add the fruit juice and let everything simmer so all the flavors can combine…

I served the pork chops with a side salad, green beans, and TJ’s mushroom risotto…

The pork chops were juicy and the risotto was creamy- def a successfully delicious dinner!

School is getting out 2 hours early today so I’m gonna take advantage of my free afternoon to catch up with some girlfriends, hit up the gym, start prepping things for tomorrow’s Thanksgiving dinner, and possibly make a pot of homemade soup?!

Question:  What’s your favorite type of ‘cake?  Fillings?  Toppings?

Question:  Pork chops or pork tenderloin?

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

5 responses to “Cakes & Chops

  1. My favorite cake is red velvet. BUT it has to have the creamcheese frosting. Its not red velvet without it! Those brancakes look pretty interesting. I’m pretty sure I have some bran in my pantry!

    • Life's a Bowl

      I admit, I’ve never had red velvet cake! I’d never heard of it until a couple of years ago and then all of a sudden it seems to be everywhere! I heard it’s red because of food dye?! Is it vanilla or chocolate?!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday « Life's a Bowl

  3. Pingback: Best Batch Yet « Life's a Bowl

  4. Pingback: Successful Substitution | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

