Melons, Online Shopping, & Mama’s Song

Soo…  I meant to post this last night but I didn’t because I fell asleep at…  9PM, YAHOOO!  I def needed it, I’ve been lacking on sleep lately [not good, I know].  So bear with me, let’s pretend it’s Thursday night 😛

Source

Phew, what a day!  I can’t believe it’s already over- but guess what, tomorrow is F.R.I.D.A.Y!  And I’ve got some fun plans this weekend, yay 😀

Today my focus was catching up on work since I was out of school at training the past two days…  Making copies, correcting classwork and homework, sorting forms, alphabetizing returned work, and assessing students.  It wasn’t the funnest day, but it was a productive day!

Three Things Thursday:

1.  Cantaloupe

This morning I tried a new-to-me kind of cantaloupe.  What do you mean there are different kinds of cantaloupe- aren’t they all orange melons with a green or tan ribbed rind and some goopy seeds in the middle?!  Yup for the most part- they all have a similar taste and texture, the biggest difference is size [bush varieties are smaller than traditional varieties].

Some of the most popular cantaloupe varieties:

Allstar: round, orange-colored flesh, fine netting, slight ribbing, good sugars, good eastern-western hybrid for shipping

Ambrosia: round, salmon-colored flesh, very fine netting, very slight ribbing, small cavity, high sugars

Athena: oval, orange-colored flesh, heavy netting, slight ribbing, less cracking than some eastern

Burpee Hybrid: slight oval, orange-colored flesh, heavy netting, distinct ribbing, a local favorite, limited shelf life, susceptible to cracking at stem end

Cordele: slight oval, orange-colored flesh, heavy netting, distinct ribbing, an eastern-western hybrid suitable for shipping

Durango: slight oval, salmon-colored flesh, medium netting, no ribbing, high sugars, good shipper

Eastern Star: oval, orange-colored flesh, medium netting, distinct ribbing, large size

Gold Star: slight oval, salmon-colored flesh, heavy netting, distinct ribbing, good eating quality

Primo: slight oval, orange-colored flesh, heavy netting, very slight ribbing, uniform size, large western type

Summet: slight oval, salmon-colored flesh, heavy netting, distinct ribbing

Supermarket: oval, salmon-colored flesh, medium netting, distinct ribbing, good for local markets

Superstar: round, salmon-colored flesh, heavy netting, distinct ribbing, very large

Tasty Sweet: round, salmon-colored flesh, fine netting, no ribbing, very sweet, small, western type

P.S.  Did you know cantaloupes are a type of muskmelons?!  And guess what…  no cantaloupes are actually grown commercially in the U.S., only muskmelons- cantaloupes are a rough warty fruit, while muskmelons have the characteristic netting on their rind.

2.  Online Shopping

During lunch today I could not stop online “window” shopping- 40% off and free shipping at Gap and new items were added to the sale department at J. Crew and Piperlime…  Accessories, clothes, shoes- I want them all!  Thankfully, it is my birthday [month ;)] and I’ve received a bunch of great discounts and gift certificates from some of my favorite stores- I guess I have to go shopping and use them up ASAP, right?!

Gap

J. Crew t

Piperlime

3.  “Mama’s Song” by Carrie Underwood

I heard this song for the first time this morning and it brought [good, happy] tears to my eyes- probs because I’m moving out of my momma’s house and moving in with my Dear next weekend.  I know, I know, I wear my emotions on my sleeve, but I’m a girl and all girls do that, right?!  Does anyone else ever relate song lyrics to something going on their life or am I the only one?

Source

Mama, you taught me to do the right things.
So, now you have to let your baby fly.
You’ve given me everything that I will need.
To make it through this crazy thing called life.
And I know you watched me grow up,
and only want what’s best for me.
And I think I found the answer to your prayers.

And he Is good, so good.
He treats your little girl,
like a real man should.
He is good, SO good.
He makes promises he keeps.
No, he’s never gonna leave.
So, don’t you worry about me.
Don’t you worry about me.

Mama, there’s no way you’ll ever lose me.
Giving me away is not goodbye.
As you watch me walk down to my future,
I hope tears of joy are in your eyes.

Cause, he is good, so good.
And, he treats your little girl,
like a real man should.
He is good, SO good.
He makes promises he keeps.
No, he’s never gonna leave.
So, don’t you worry about me.
Don’t you worry about me.

And when I watch my baby grow up,
I’ll only want what’s best for her.
And I hope she’ll find,
the answer to my prayers.
And that she’ll say…

He is good, so good.
And he treats your little girl,
like a real man should.
He is good, SO good.
He makes promises he keeps.
No, he’s never gonna leave.
So, don’t you worry about me.
Don’t you worry about me.

Mama, don’t you worry about me.
Don’t you worry about me.

Question:  Do you online “window” shop?

Question:  Have you heard “Mama’s Song”?  Whatcha think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Fitness, Food, Music, Shopping, Work

Whatcha think?

