Mighty Fine Food

There’s something about weekend mornings that are so beautiful and relaxing…

pink lady apple + egg whites with a TJ’s Apple Chicken Sausage and salsa + sandwich thin topped with TJ’s Spreadable Goat Cheese and jelly

Yesterday afternoon my Dear and I took advantage of the lovely weather [almost unheard of in the DC area lately] and had a little photo shoot in the front yard…

Totes JK, I just wanted a few more photos to add to my “summer” album B-)

Recently, I’ve heard a lot about the Eastern Market:

“Washington DC’s oldest continually operated fresh food public market. Located in the heart of the historic Capitol Hill neighborhood, Eastern Market is DC’s destination for fresh food, community events, and on weekends, local farm fresh produce and handmade arts and crafts.”

I got caught up trying on jewelry, debating whether or not to buy a dress, and checking out the fresh produce to snap any pictures- oops!  No worries, my momma wants to check it out for herself so I’ll [try to remember to] take some pictures! I did capture the Capitol on our way home…

Every weekend, my Dear and I have a date night.  Whether we cook in or dine out, see a movie in the theater or order one from Netflix, we’re sure to designate one night for just us two to spend time together.  Last night we debated cooking at home but sitting outside sounded appealing so we opted to dine out and try a new-to-us restaurant, Jackson’s.

Unfortunately, Jackson’s does not offer outdoor seating [other than the “Lucky Lounge” bar] but that did not deter us, we were allured by the menu.  According to Jackson’s website, Jackson’s is:

“A comfortable and upbeat 1940’s dinner house with two bars.  Named after Bill Jackson, our favorite chef, Jackson’s features outstanding quality without pretense…just the way Bill was.”

Jackson’s is one of the nine Great American Restaurants

Soon after we were seated, our waitress brought us some  bread [both the raisin and the herb breads are fab] and a couple of drinks.

We both started with Billy’s Chop House Salad: romaine, arugula, fresh corn, tomatoes, aged white cheddar, garlic croutons & buttermilk herb dressing.  The salad was full of flavor, much better than most typical side salads- the addition of corn was our favorite!

I ordered the Wood Grilled Filet Mignon that was served with a hot baked potato and roasted mushrooms [I asked for the mushrooms on the side].  My Dear was stunned when I ordered a steak- I’m not a big red meat-eater but sometimes a girl gets cravings 😉

My Dear ordered Jackson’s Rib Eye which was marinated in Worcestershire and served with campari tomatoes with blue cheese vinaigrette.  Both of us thought the steaks we cooked perfectly and the light char on the outside gave them nice flavoring- two thumbs up!

Unfortunately, we didn’t have room for dessert after a couple of drinks and our meals but the dessert menu looked heavenly- next time we’ll have to do a better job pacing ourselves.  I’ve got my eye on the Warm Flourless Chocolate Waffle or the White Chocolate Turtle Pecan Cheesecake 😉

FYI: If you need any more reason to order dessert, each of the Great American Restaurants donates $.25 from the sale of each dessert to charity; the Best Buns Bread Co. contributes 5% of all their bread sales.  The charities that benefit from this include:

  • Youth For Tomorrow Fund
  • Meals on Wheels
  • The Latino Student Fund
  • Childhelp
  • Food & Friends Fund
  • Share Our Strength
  • S.O.M.E.
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northern Virginia
  • Medical Care for Children Partnership (MCCP)
  • Bill Jackson Culinary Arts Scholarship at L’Academie de Cuisine
  • Feeding America

And since 2002, the Great American Restaurant chain has donated $1,038,482.31 through the dessert partnership, WOW!

I definitely can say that my Dear and I will be dining at Jackson’s in the future.  The atmosphere, the service, and the food were all great!

Question:  Have you ever eaten at Jackson’s or one of the Great American Restaurants?

Question:  How do you like your steak?  Rare, medium, or well done?

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Shopping

4 responses to “Mighty Fine Food

  1. I was in DC with my husband last month and we both loved Eastern Market! I got some new earrings and a necklace… and a pickle on a stick. Such a cute place! 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      I tried on a couple pairs of earrings and a few necklaces- there were so many eclectic pieces, I loved it! I def will be making many purchases next time I visit 🙂 A pickle on a stick?! I love pickles, I must get one of those!

  2. Jackson’s looks like a wonderful restaurant! I’ve actually never heard of it, but now I want to go, especially because they donate dessert proceeds to charity. Talk about a good excuse to finish your meal with something sweet!

    Eastern Market is one of my favorite weekend hot spots. 🙂 Glad you had a nice weekend! xoxo

    • Life's a Bowl

      Jackson’s was great- we def will be visiting again! I have been to a couple of the other Great American Restaurants and liked them too 🙂 I plan to go back to the EM soon- there were so many great things!

Whatcha think?

