Mrs. Thomas

Wow, it’s already the end of the second day of school- where does the time go?!  I’m happy to share that there has already been much improvement since yesterday 😀  I totes think that a lot of yesterday’s difficulties were the result of everyone’s first day jitters!

Source

I wanted to share an article with y’all that my momma forwarded me yesterday that was featured in the New York Times, “In Honor of Teachers” by Charles M. Blow.

A few things that stood out to me from the article…

  • “76 percent of Americans believed that high-achieving high school students should later be recruited to become teachers, and 67 percent of respondents said that they would like to have a child of their own take up teaching in the public schools as a career.”
  • “…one of the differences between the United States and countries with high-performing school systems was: The teaching profession in the U.S. does not have the same high status as it once did, nor does it compare with the status teachers enjoy in the world’s best-performing economies.”
  • “…nearly 50 percent of new teachers leave the profession within their first five years teaching; they cite poor working conditions and low pay as the chief reason.”
  • “I’m not saying that we shouldn’t seek to reform our education system. We should, and we must. Nor am I saying that all teachers are great teachers. They aren’t. But let’s be honest: No profession is full of peak performers. At least this one is infused with nobility.”
  • “Teachers may be the biggest in-school factor, but there are many out-of-school factors that weigh heavily on performance, like growing child poverty, hunger, homelessness, home and neighborhood instability, adult role-modeling and parental pressure and expectations.”
  • “So to all of the Mrs. Thomases out there, all the teachers struggling to reach lost children like I was once, I just want to say thank you. You deserve our admiration, not our contempt.”

I’m sure that you all have a “Mrs. Thomas” of your own, a teacher who saw your abilities and highlighted your strengths.  I know that I wanted to be a teacher for many years and I attribute that desire to my first grade teacher.  She was a short yet feisty, woman [who had an obsession with frogs] who always made me feel like I was capable of accomplishing and achieving anything I set my mind to.

As a first-year teacher, I hope that I can be a  “Mrs. Thomas” to one of my students…

Source

Question:  Who was your most inspirational teacher?

Question:  What was the biggest lesson you learned from your favorite teacher?

4 Comments

Filed under Inspiration & Motivation, Work

4 responses to “Mrs. Thomas

  1. Kayla

    I had a teacher who also was obsessed with frogs. She would have her favorite student bring home a stuffed animal frog for the week. She was a wretched woman and would dump your desk if you forgot to do your homework.

    Anyway,
    glad you had a better second day! 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Oh no, that’s awful! I hope you never forgot your homework, I surely wouldn’t if my teacher did that… Thanks 😀

  2. Pingback: Me es Loca « Life's a Bowl

  3. Pingback: A Teacher Looking for Inspiration | Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

