Vanilla Apple Pie Cake

Over the weekend I spotted a new-to-me product at TJ’s, Vanilla Cake and Baking Mix [Made with Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Flavor]- I was sold, vanilla + cake šŸ™‚

A lot of times when I bake, I substitute applesauce for oil and I honestly can’t taste much difference and neither does my teenage brother, the pickiest eater on Earth!Ā  The biggest difference is in the texture- applesauce = fluffy, oil = dense.

So I guess technically this cake wasn’t completely homemade since it came in a box, but I mixed the ingredients, added a few additional ingredients, and baked it with love and that counts for something, right?!

Inspired by Gracie’sĀ  pumpkin cake batter cupcakes with cinnamon sugar icing…

Cake Ingredients:

  • 1 box of TJ’s Vanilla Cake and Baking Mix
  • 1 2/3 cups TJ’s Unsweetened Applesauce [the cake mix is already sweetened]
  • A few heavy shakes of cinnamon

Glaze Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Silk Light Vanilla milk [any milk would work]
  • A few heavy shakes of cinnamon

Cake Ingredients

Glaze Ingredients

Empty the cake mix into a large bowl.

Cake Mix

Pour in the applesauce and cinnamon.

Cake Mix + Applesauce + Cinnamon

Whisk, whisk, whisk!

All Mixed Together

Pour the batter into a non-stick pan [I sprayed mine with some non-stick spray too, just in case the cake decided to be feisty].

Ready for the Oven

Cook for approximately 40 minutes at 350 degrees [time may vary depending upon the oven].

Bake Until Golden Brown

While the cake is baking, mix together the powdered sugar, cinnamon, and milk to make the glaze.

Glaze

Remove the cake from the oven when it’s golden brown on top. A quick trick to tell if the cake is completely cooked: inset a toothpick into the middle of the cake [typically the highest point]- if it comes out clean it’s done but if it comes out coated with crumbs, it needs more lovin’ in the oven!

Using a toothpick, poke holes throughout the cake so the glaze can be absorbed.

Poke, Poke, Poke!

Pour the glaze on top of the cake and spread evenly [I had to tilt the pan for the glaze to cover all of the edges and bottom].

Glazed Goodness šŸ™‚

Let the cake sit and cool to room temperature before cutting [otherwise the cake may crumble].

All Cut Up

Gooey Texture

Enjoy!

Bon Appetite!

Question: Do you use oil or applesauce when baking?

Question: What’s your favorite kind of pie?

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

6 responses to “Vanilla Apple Pie Cake

  1. omgosh….brilliant!!! must try this next time!

  2. Yum!!!
    I always use applesauce or pumpkin!
    I love banana pie but you HAVE to have graham cracker crust!

    • Life's a Bowl

      I love using pumpkin too but sadly they didn’t have any at the store :/ Good news is that the pumpkin harvest this year was abundant and there shouldn’t be a shortage like last year- IDK if you were aware haha, I guess my pumpkin obsession is showing šŸ˜› Ooo, I’ve never had banana pie but think I would love it- random but doesn’t the Nilla Wafer box have a recipie for one on it?!

Whatcha think?

