Always & Forever

I cannot believe that it’s already been a year… We were sitting on the Boston “T” [aka the subway] headed downtown after dinner to walk through The Public Garden and get fro-yo from one of our favorite places, J.P. Licks [yup, he was well aware of my fro-yo addiction… I honestly think that he’s developed a special place in his heart for it too ;)].

Out to Dinner in Georgetown

Cheers, where everybody knows your name!

Sunset over the Charles River

We got off the T, crossed the street, and started walking through the Garden. If you’ve ever visited Boston, you know how pretty the Garden is during the summer, if you haven’t, GO visit!

We were strolling and chatting and joking and admiring the beautiful summer scenery. We crossed the bridge and stopped to reminisce about the Swan Boat ride we took earlier in the summer and how it didn’t live up to our expectations [thankfully it wasn’t more than a couple of bucks].

Before the Swan Boat Ride

We continued our walk, crossing the bridge towards Newbury Street. If you love to shop and are in Boston, Newbury Street is the pot of gold of shopping… There is both high-end [Brooks Brothers, Burberry, Chanel, LF, etc.] and more affordable stores [Forever 21, H&M, Shop 344, Urban Outfitters, etc.] so you could spend your whole day perusing the shops. Don’t worry, if you do spend hours shopping, there are plenty of delicious restaurants to choose from!

As we were about to leave the Garden, my Dear paused to “tie his shoe.” Since we were walking and holding hands, my Dear pulled me back towards him when he knelt down. I was getting anxious [no judgements, I we said we were going for a walk AND getting fro-yo, I hadn’t forgotten] so I turned around and tried to walk forward, yanking him with me!

Still on his knee, my Dear said he “had a rock in his shoe” so he untied it, took it off, shook it around, and put it back on. Thinking he was all settled, I turned back around and reached for his hand to start walking again. All of a sudden he reached into his back pocket and within an instant there was a little, beautiful, blue velvet box sitting on his palm. OH MY GOODNESS. IT WAS HAPPENING. HE WAS PROPOSING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BOSTON PUBLIC GARDENS IN FRONT OF PEOPLE. ON THE LAST NIGHT OF SUMMER. COULD THIS BE REAL?!

BLUE BOX!

I FROZE. Now, sure, we had talked about getting engaged and how we thought it was the natural next step in our relationship, but that was just talk. He slid the ring onto my finger and I was stunned. It was so bright and shiny and beautiful, exactly the style I would have picked out. I COULDN’T SAY ANYTHING. I think I said “yes” but to be honest, I can’t remember what I initially said, I was so caught up in the moment. I started crying, jumped into his arms, and every word that came out of my mouth was unintelligible, I felt like the happiest girl in the world. I can only imagine what the people around us thought!

First picture of the ring on my finger!

Floating on cloud 9, I began calling and texting my girlfriends- typical girl, I wanted everyone to know! My friends were very happy for me and wanted all of the details- only problem, I still couldn’t produce a coherent sentence and since I was smiling ear to ear my jaw was killing me! Thankfully, it was soon numbed by some delicious fro-yo πŸ˜€

Cheesin'

Our first picture as an engaged couple!

During the week before we drove back up to Boston, my Dear met with my dad to ask for his approval- gotta keep it traditional [not traditional in the sense that my dad brought his gun to the meeting, he doesn’t have one]. Unfortunately, my Dear didn’t have an opportunity to meet with my momma. I sent my momma a picture of the ring immediately after the proposal. I was so caught up in everything that I didn’t realize she hadn’t responded. The next morning, I called her to ask if she had seen the picture- she said no. When I told her that I was engaged, she was shocked. In her mind, her young daughter was just about to begin her senior year in college. Some of the thoughts she probably had were: was she going to drop out? Was she going to lose track of her plans to be a teacher? Was she pregnant? NO, NO, and NO! It took some time for my momma to accept that I was engaged. She didn’t understand why I felt the need to get engaged at such a young age. As I explained to her, it felt like it was the next step in my relationship with my Dear and I couldn’t be happier. I reassured her that I had no plans to quit school and move home nor was I pregnant. I was going to finish my senior year and graduate with a BS in Severe Special Education and get a job [and I did :D]. Sure, it was stressful at times, but it has been worth it.

Christmas Dinner 2010

In July, we hosted our engagement party. We had a blast celebrating our relationship with our family and friends!

The Cake

I am engaged to the love of my life and I am confident that he loves me just as much. He has supported me through hard times, provided me with a shoulder to cry on during the sad times, laughed with me through the silly moments, and has lent me his ear whenever I need to vent about anything. As we say, we will be together “always and forever.” β™₯

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends, Holidays, Wedding

8 responses to “Always & Forever

  1. Happy Anniversary! My best friend just got engaged on Friday, the end of August must be a popular time. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Anniversary, Allison! I loved reading your engagement story–so romantic! Boston is one of my favorite cities, so it was fun to “revisit” them in this post. πŸ™‚ When are you planning on getting married?

    Your ring is absolutely stunning! Lucky girl!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks so much for the sweet compliments! I loved going to school in Boston and look forward to visiting in the future! We actually have recently started talking about a fall 2012 wedding- it makes me all gitty and excited thinking about it πŸ˜€

  3. Liz

    Happy anniversary! Your ring is so pretty and I love the story.

  4. Lauren Vanhusen

    Love you Bff extended! Here we come “Say Yes to the Dress”

Whatcha think?

