Goatastic Tuna Fish Salad & Italian Tortilla Chips

Last night I wasn’t worried about the weather, rather I was more worried about the swarms of people I’d have to fend off…  People can get crazy when stocking up for a storm!

TJ’s was surprisingly empty at 8AM- maybe it’s because I’m one of the few crazy people who wake up at 5AM on the weekends?!  The cashier said that it was a MADHOUSE yesterday afternoon through closing and loaves of bread were literally FLYING off the shelves!  They must have worked hard this morning because all of the shelves were sufficiently restocked!  I didn’t get much [in case the power goes out] but I did find a few new-to-me products that I look forward to using this week, as well as this little pepper plant 🙂

I wonder if these peppers are edible?!

After TJ’s I made my way over to TJ Maxx and again the store was empty!  I’m beginning to realize that the best time to shop is right before a storm because everyone else is seeking shelter inside of their house!  I bought a couple of things but I’m most excited about this laptop case for my HUGE school computer [it’s taking me a while to get used to using a PC again]!

New Laptop Case

Old and Bulky Laptop Case

Last night I promised my momma to help her to move all the potential fly-away items [hanging plants, deck furniture, bikes, etc.]  inside before Hurricane Irene arrives…  Our already packed garage is now sufficiently stuffed!  Sorry the pictures are fuzzy but our garage doesn’t have the best lighting, then again, whose does?!

Lunch today contained many new-to-me things: pluots, PB pretzel yogurt, goat-tastic tuna fish salad, and Italian toasted tortilla chips!  Sure, I’ve had both a plum and an apricot before, but never a pluot…  I eat PB yogurt almost everyday but I have never mixed it with pretzels…  I’ve eaten plenty of tuna fish salads but I’ve never mixed it with goat cheese…  And I eat tortillas frequently but I’ve never cut them into triangles and toasted them…

Pluot [plum + apricot]:  Oh em gee, these little guys were the prettiest shade of ruby-red I’ve ever seen and the juiciest plum or apricot I’ve ever bitten into!

Plum + Apricot = Plumot!

PB Pretzel Yogurt:  I love PB yogurt and often have it for breakfast mixed with cereal, but the addition of pretzels makes this a tasty sweet and salty treat!  It would even taste great frozen for dessert!

  • 1/2 cup plain 0% Greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon TJ’s Peanut Flour
  • A few heavy dashes of cinnamon
  • A sprinkle of Stevia
  • 5-6 Snyder’s Mini Pretzels

You can either crush the pretzels before or after mixing them into the yogurt…

Goatastic Tuna Fish Salad:  My momma always used to make tuna fish sandwiches for me growing up- y’all probably have a similar recipe: tuna fish, diced celery and carrots, mayonnaise, and a sprinkle of both salt and pepper [sandwiched it between white bread].  I kept this version similar but I thought TJ’s Spreadable Goat Cheese would be a good substitute for the mayonnaise.  I put it on top of a veggie packed salad [romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, diced carrots and celery, and sliced mushrooms] and added a dash of red wine vinegar at the end…

Spices

Classy and Fancy Mustard

Goat Cheese and Tuna Fish

Simply combine all of the ingredients above and mix!  This tuna fish salad would taste great as a sandwich, on top of a salad, or as a melt!

Italian Tortilla Chips:  An Italian spin on the tortilla chip- I imagine they would be tasty topped with some bruschetta or dipped into tomato sauce!

  • TJ’s Canola Oil Spray
  • A few sprinkles of garlic powder [enough to cover all of the triangles]
  • A few sprinkles of Pecorino Romano [or Parmesan] cheese [enough to cover all of the triangles]
  • 2 TJ’s Low-Carb Whole Wheat Tortillas

Ingredients

Stack the tortillas on top of each other and cut them into triangles.  Arrange the triangles on a non-stick baking sheet.  Lightly spray the triangles with canola oil and sprinkle them with garlic powder and Pecorino Romano cheese.  Place the baking sheet onto the bottom rack of the oven and set the broiler to high.  Let the tortillas brown lightly and then flip [the time will vary for each oven and how brown you like them].

**Be sure to keep a close eye on the tortillas, things cook VERY quickly under the broiler- I’ve learned the hard way ;)**

Naked Tortillas

Jazzed Up Tortillas

Browned Tortillas

All together now…

Plumots and Tortilla Triangles

PB Pretzel Yogurt

Goat-tastic Tuna Fish Salad

The rest of the day should be relaxing- I need to wrap something for my Dear, I’m meeting up with one of my girlfriends at the gym, maybe I’ll bake some vanilla treats, and cook dinner for my momma and Dear- all assuming we still have power!

Question:  Have you seen any good movies lately that are available to rent?

Question:  How are you planning to stay dry over this wet weekend?

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Food, Recipes, Shopping

One response to “Goatastic Tuna Fish Salad & Italian Tortilla Chips

  1. Pingback: A Lotta Hype, Little Show « Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

