A Crummy Day & A BRANtastic Morning

Oops, I totes forgot to show y’all my salad bowl from Wednesday…  Nothing too exciting but I love all of the colors- taste the rainbow!  I remember reading posters in my high school cafeteria that always stressed the importance of eating a variety of foods, aka “eat the rainbow!”

Romaine lettuce, mushrooms, corn, steamed broccoli and carrots, tomatoes, and a few heavy spoonfuls of the mango peach salsa from Costco 🙂

Yesterday and Wednesday were rough, granted I’d consider myself the world’s worst patient and I blame it on my impatience.  Wednesday afternoon I went to the gym and then swung by the mall but I forgot my pain meds and by 6PM I definitely could feel that a chunk of my leg was missing…  And that night I spent more time stumbling than sleeping.

Usually my stomach starts rumbling within a half-hour of waking up but yesterday morning my stomach was rumbling for other reasons.  I needed to take my meds so I ventured downstairs to eat some cereal [doc suggested taking the meds on a full stomach] and then the meds.  A little after breakfast my stomach began to churn and wouldn’t stop so my morning was spent watching the news, reading blogs, and…  I’ll spare you the other details.

Around lunchtime I felt a little better and felt a little hungry since nothing was in my stomach [ahem, you know why].  Since I had some time to cook a decent meal, I decided to make something that I’ve been meaning to make for a while…  A quinoa bowl!

I made a dish similar to this one a couple of months ago when I was trying to use up all the ingredients in my kitchen before graduation and moving home…  I simply mixed together:

  • Cooked quinoa
  • Black beans
  • Freshly chopped bell pepper
  • Freshly cubed avocado
  • A dollop of plain Greek yogurt
  • A dollop of salsa

It was super creamy, rich, and heavenly 😀  Recently, I’ve seen a lot of quinoa recipes [CookinFanatic, Iowa Girl Eats, and Trying to Heal] that have sparked my interest to recreate a similar dish and today seemed like a good day!

Since I didn’t have any beans or an avocado, I made some substitutions:

  • Fresh spinach
  • Steamed broccoli and cauliflower
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • TJ’s Frozen Fire Roasted Corn
  • Frozen bell peppers
  • Mango peach salsa
  • 2 microwaved egg whites

Substitution success!  I really need to start using quinoa more often- thankfully I have a 10+ pound bag of it from Costco 😀  Not only does quinoa taste good, it has some awesome nutritional stats [courtesy of Wikipedia]:

  • High protein content
  • Contains a balanced set of essential amino acids, making it a complete protein
  • Good source of dietary fiber and phosphorus
  • High in magnesium and iron
  • Gluten-free, easy to digest

Well, I guess quinoa is easy to digest normally, but not on a sick stomach [I know, neither are veggies= roughage] :/  Although my stomach pains and lack of energy continued throughout the day, I was antsy to get out of the house- I’ve said it before, one of my worst characteristics is that I always prefer to be on the move versus sedentary…  I was losing my mind after sitting in my bed for hours and only standing up to go to the bathroom, to get a drink, or to get something from my desk [five feet away from me]…

Around 1PM, one of my girlfriends messaged me asking how I was doing…

[me] “I’m alright.  I’ve sick all day… You?”

[her] “Aw, I’m sorry.  I’m going to the gym in a bit and planning to do some work after.”

[me] “Sounds good to me…  Want me to meet you there or do you want to pick me up?”

[her] “I can pick you up but you’re sick, shouldn’t you stay home?!’

[me] “No, I’m bored.  I want to get out of the house, I’ll bike or something…”

As soon as I got into the car I knew I wouldn’t survive at the gym.  We scratched our original plans and decided to do some work at Barnes and Noble.  As soon as we made it through the doors I B-lined it for the restroom.  Yeah, yeah, not the smartest decision I’ve ever made but thankfully I have good friends who put up with my shenanigans :-S  We ended up coming home and I plopped back into bed, watched trashy TV, read blogs, and fell asleep…

After the day I had, food was the last thing on my mind.  Around 6PM I ate a banana and few pretzels and kept it all down, success!  A little while later my momma offered to pick up some Panera on her way home [chicken noodle soup + bread = the sick persons best meal]- I can never say no to Panera!

Chicken Noodle Soup + Bread Bowl + Diet Hansen's Cola

I always eat my bread bowls the same way: dip the top chunk of bread into the soup, eat the chunks of noodles/ veggies/ chicken, and devour the broth-soaked bowl…  You can even eat the serving dish, LOVE 😀

Since I felt fine after the soup and bread, I ended the night on a sweet note…

Chocolate Chip Peanut Crunch Mini Clif Bar

Yesterday was crummy and I was bored out of my mind sitting in bed, but TODAY IS A NEW DAY!  I woke up feeling fabulous and wanted to break away from the typical cereal bowls I’ve been having lately…  Thus, I made PANCAKES, or “brancakes” 😀

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 2 egg whites
  • A pinch of Stevia
  • A few heavy shakes of ground cinnamon
  • A pinch of TJ’s Pure Bourbon Vanilla Extract
  • A pinch of TJ’s Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • A splash of water [to thin out the batter]

I usually make a few smaller pancakes because I am the worst pancake flipper [evidence above] but I was ambitious and poured all of the batter into the pan- it took 2 spatulas to flip this megacake!  This brancake was the bomb!  I topped it with some PB (*peanut butter*) yogurt and TJ’s Bran Cereal:

  • 1/3 cup of 0% plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tablespoon of TJ’s Peanut Flour
  • A pinch of Stevia
  • A a few heavy shakes of cinnamon

Talk about a BRAN-tastic breakfast!  I know a lot of people shy away from oat bran because of its high fiber content, but don’t!  Fiber is not just for old people 😛

This was my first time using this brand of oat bran…  It was definitely a little coarser than the other brands of oat bran that I’ve used in the past but it gave the brancakes a hearty texture that I loved!

Bigger oats= heartier texture!

All together...

On the side I had an apple, egg whites [sprinkled with Parmesan cheese], and Canadian bacon for some extra protein power!

Today I plan to knock off some of my to-do’s and make the most of the good weather.  Miss Irene is schedule to hit our part of the east coast tomorrow morning and stay through Sunday!

P.S.  I got an email this morning from Women’s Health titled “Warning Signs: the 7 Symptoms You Should Not Ignore“…  Maybe if I had gotten this email yesterday I would have known my own body’s “warning signs” and not left my house ;P

Question:  What do you do to keep yourself occupied on “sick” days?

Question:  Have any fun weekend plans?

6 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Family, Fitness, Food, Friends, Health, Recipes, TV & Movies

6 responses to “A Crummy Day & A BRANtastic Morning

  1. On sick days? I watch lots of HBO. Plus I nap. haha.

    Your food looks great!

  2. Do you know I’ve never tried quinoa?! You have for sure inspired me! I’m going to pick some up this week! 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      It’s so good- I hope you try it! I’m thinking an Italian recipe next 🙂 Let me know what you think [and how you use it]! BTW: it also works great as a sub for oats for breakfast!

  3. Yum!! Such good eats! Sorry you were sick! Feel better!xoxo

Whatcha think?

