Don’t Judge a Banana By Its Peel

Last night before I went to bed I found something sad in the back of the fruit drawer…

At the Scene of the Crime

A BLACK [not brown, it’s beyond that stage] BANANA.  It was a TRAGIC scene!  We usually keep the bananas in a big fruit bowl on the counter but once they start browning, I toss them into the fruit drawer.  Unfortunately, I guess I forgot about the bananas.  Not only had the banana turned black, I could feel that it was turning mushy.

I woke up this morning thinking of what I could make using a black banana.  I don’t think I’ve ever planned a meal around a black banana…  Maybe banana bread?  French toast- no.  Pancakes- no.  Waffles- no.  Oatmeal- no.  Cereal- yes!  A mumbo-jumbo, cereal bowl sounded perfect!

  • Kashi Go Lean
  • TJ’s High Fiber cereal
  • Cinnamon
  • Black banana
  • Silk Light Vanilla soymilk

Can you see the mushy, gushy pockets of banana goodness?!

OH EM GEE!  Cereal + cinnamon + mushy banana + vanilla milk = delicious 😀  The mix kind of reminded me of a banana split- the mushy, gushy, gooey pockets of banana were definitely the star of the meal!  Sometimes the simplest things in life are the sweetest 😀  I also think the banana would have tasted delicious smushed on top of french toast, pancakes, or waffles [I was just too lazy to make some]!

Food for thought: Don’t judge a book by its cover… Errr, don’t judge a banana by its peel!

P.S.  Happy birthday to my twinsie!

NYC Trip, Spring 2011

NYC Trip, Spring 2011

Washington Mystics Game, Summer 2011

Tim McGraw Concert, Summer 2011

Tim McGraw Concert, Summer 2011

Happy Birthday Twinsie!  I can’t wait to celebrate tonight 😀

Source

Question:  Do you have a “twinsie”?  No, we are not sisters by birth- we call each other twinsie because we have so many things in common, besides sharing a pretty cool name 😉

Question:  Have you ever eaten a black banana?  What did you make using it?

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Friends, Holidays

6 responses to “Don’t Judge a Banana By Its Peel

  1. i love that bowl! i don’t think i could ever eat a black banana – but i do like them for baking 🙂

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! My momma has always loved blue in the kitchen, hence a lot of blue dishes 🙂 I never thought I could eat a black banana, but I survived and would do it again, haha!

  2. kayla

    I have NOT eaten a blackened banana but how creative are you? I didn’t even know they tasted good after they blackened. I’m not a big fan of bananas unless it’s in bread 😉

    But silk milk? YUMM

    • Life's a Bowl

      Mashed and mushed black bananas are surprisingly delicious haha! They’re not my favorite either but I’m not opposed… SILK Light Vanilla is so delicious!

  3. Pingback: “As Hard As It’s Been, I Would Do It All Again” « Life's a Bowl

  4. Pingback: Black Banana Bowl « Life's a Bowl

Whatcha think?

