A French Breakfast

This morning I felt inspired to break away from my typical yogurt bowl breakfast and travel across the seas to… France, aka I made FRENCH TOAST 🙂

Five French toast facts (from Wikipedia):

  1. The earliest official mention of French toast is in the Apicious, a collection of Latin recipes dating back to the 4th or 5th century.
  2. French toast can either be a sweet or a savory dish [fried with a pinch of salt].  When sweet, French toast is most often topped with sugar, butter, fruit, and/ or syrup; when savory, French toast is topped served with ketchup or mayonnaise.
  3. In France, French toast is called pain perdu, meaning “lost bread,” because it is a way to reclaim stale or “lost” bread.
  4. In the United Kingdom, French toast is also known as “eggy bread,” “egg dip,” or “gypsy toast.”
  5. In Hong Kong, French toast is made by deep-frying stacked sliced bread dipped in beaten egg or soy and served with a slab of butter and topped with golden syrup or honey.  Normally, in between the two slices, there is a sweet filling such as peanut butter, kaya, or jam.

French toast can be really easy.  Bread + egg mixture + desired toppings = delicious!  Mine was just that!  I combined:

  • 2 egg whites
  • A few heavy dashes of ground cinnamon
  • Stevia
  • A pinch of TJ’s Pure Bourbon Vanilla Extract

All of the ingredients combined... Whisk, whisk, whisk!

Don't to forget to prep your pan with some spray, even nonstick pans should be spritzed...

Dip your bread into the egg mixture- I used 2 slices of TJ’s Whole Wheat bread.  Don’t worry if your bread gets too soggy and begins to rip, you can always smush it back together in the pan or fill the crack in with the remaining egg mixture [yup, it happened to me]!

Cookin' on the first side...

In the meantime, prepare your toppings.  I decided to mix 0% Greek yogurt with some pumpkin puree, a little cinnamon and Stevia, and a touch of water to thin out the mixture.

Flip your bread!

Post-flip...

Be sure to keep an eye on the toast since the second side cooks quicker than the first- I personally don’t mind a little burned bread, I actually like it, but not everyone does!  Top your toast with your preferred toppings- I used the yogurt mixture and Kashi Go Lean cereal 🙂

I added some Canadian bacon and cantaloupe on the side 🙂

For me, a serving of cantaloupe= 1/2 a cantaloupe.  I’m not sure of the real size of a serving, nor do I really care to know because if I’m wrong, I don’t want to be right 😛  Sometimes I think that I could totes beat Adam Richman from Man vs. Food in an eating contest!  Specifically related to fruit, but probably not the “Mac Daddy Pancakes,” although they sure do look delicious…

Source

I multitasked and scanned through the weekly circulars- I’ve said it before, I’m a sucker for sales!

I wonder if I use this coupon to buy some Cover Girl products, I could save enough to see TSwift in concert again?!

Have a terrific Tuesday!  I already know that I’ll be consuming a couple of cups of these to get my through my second day of training!

Question: What do you put on top of your french toast?  Have you ever tried a crunchy topping?  This was my first time, and golly wholly, it was good!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Shopping

4 responses to “A French Breakfast

  1. Brittany

    Love the covergirl coupons w/ the shout-out to Tswift! I’m clipping coupons like crazy with the same thought in my head for our ToT [Taylor on Tour] trip ❤ Oh, and about the French toast- I love honey, cinnamon, and fresh berries on the side! Pumpkin anything is heavenly though so I'm a huge fan whenever you incorporate it!

    P.S. on my way back to my car today I stopped into Urban Outfitter and they had two coffee mugs I wanted to get. One for you that was the side of a small mixing bowl that read "Study Buddy" (for my coffee loving lover) and one for me that read: "World's greatest entry-level employee" haha

    • Life's a Bowl

      We need to look into planning ToT ASAP- unfortunately, my bank account is looking rather thin and a trip to TX is out of my range… Maybe FLA?!

      Oh, we should totes get them for the challenges we’ll be facing in the coming weeks- psyched but nervous!

  2. great looking breakfast. I’m totally craving french toast!

    • Life's a Bowl

      Thanks! The pictures don’t do it justice- I’ve quickly learned I need to work on my photography skills, ha! I’m hoping to make some waffles or pancakes in the coming days- stay tuned!

Whatcha think?

